Wednesday, August 6, 2008

Where Is the Honesty?

I found the honesty Friday, August 1, 2008! After our fantastic vacation in St. Ignace I did the stupidest thing. It was so stupid that it made me cry! On our way home from up north we stopped at the Welcome Center rest area in Claire. We all got out and I thought Scott was going to stay in the truck while we went in. He decided to go in and get a map, so I grabbed my wallet off the dash and brought it with me.

When I went into the bathroom, I waited for Jourdan to come out and she took Sam. You know the big stainless steel toilet paper holders in the bathroom? Well, I go in and I laid my wallet on top of that. Then, I walked out without it.

What an idiot! So, I don't know I've done this and we all get back into the truck and Scott decides to have me drive. I get back on the expressway and immediately there is an exit for Claire. John and Jourdan are saying they are hungry, so I go across 3 or 4 lanes of traffic to get off the highway. A miracle in itself because I had the camper behind me.

We pull into McDonalds and stop. I go to reach for my wallet and I immediatley realize I left it in the bathroom stall in the rest stop! I AM FREAKING OUT!!!! All of our money is in MY wallet. All of it, and my credit cards, debit card, soc. sec. card, the kids soc sec cards, library cards, and a crap load of other important stuff. Of course, I start to pull back out of the parking lot...we're way in the back....and some stupid old woman is driving a motorhome and she can't figure out how to drive the damn thing through the parking lot. She just stops and blocks all the traffic. In the meantime, I'm behind her....tailgaiting her in my truck with the camper behind us and I'm having a fit.

So, after ten minutes we finally get back on the expressway only to pass the reststop. The northbound exit is before the onramp we used. So, I'm having a meltdown...and I'm driving. Scott is yelling at me to pull over so he can drive. Then he tells me to get on HWY 10! What? Why HWY10???? Since I'm having a meltdown I do and then there are no exits. No exits, just a barren desert filled with highway.

I pull over and let Scott drive. Just down the road we see an "Authorized Vehicle Only" turn-around and we use it anyways. The whole time we're heading back....and now we're about 6 miles away from the reststop and it's been 30 minutes....I'm praying in a whisper:

"Please God, let it be there"

over and over and over! Well, I guess he was listening. I literally ran inside and it was gone from the bathroom but when I went to the counter a woman said it was in the drawer. I opened up the zipper and all of our money was there. If you opened a wallet and saw $100 bills, what would you do? Some honest woman found my wallet and brought it to the desk. Nothing was missing....it was all there. I asked if they knew who it was, they said no.

A woman went into that reststop and did something that most people would not have done. She was honest and kind enough to return my wallet to me with our vacation money still in it. Maybe it was my guardian angel?

No comments:

Post a Comment