Saturday, August 30, 2008

Arrow Victory

The Red Arrows played Davison Thursday night and kicked their ass! You all know that football is important to me. I'm not just talking about Ohio State, who won today by the way. I'm talking about our very own Lowell Red Arrows. Jason is playing on the varsity team this year. I'm so excited. They played an away game on Thursday night against Davison and won. Jason told me that they are ranked 25th in the state and Lowell cleaned their clocks.

What I was most excited about is that Jason got to play. For a Junior, who was out the entire season last year with a broken foot, to get play time in a big game like this is exciting. He got mad at me for calling my dad and telling him, but he'll get over it. A mom is supposed to be proud of her son. He has worked so hard for three years for the football team and it makes me happy to know that he is getting play time for Coach Dean.

So Jason told me their team is really good this year. I'm very excited to go to their first game. It's a special game already but they are having the Pink Project that night and everyone will be wearing pink. Pink football uniforms, pink cheerleaders, pink crowd, pink popcorn, and pink battle sticks. I am really looking forward to it. The kids are playing against Holland and I'm just wondering how that will feel to them when they get their butts kicked by a bunch of guys wearing pink, lol.

I just can't believe that we're staring down September. The kids will start school in a couple of days, including John. I can't believe that he's starting school so soon, he's just a baby. Well, that's how I feel anyways. I'm going into work late on Wed so I can take him to school with Scott. We went last week and met his teacher and took a tour of the school. That was fun and he's really looking forward to going. Now I'm just wondering when the weather will cool down?

McCain / Palin

GO TO: http://www.ontheissues.org/

This is where you can click on any politician and see where he or she stands on issues that are important to you!

I'm so happy that McCain has picked Sarah Palin to run as VP! I was watching the news this morning and they were in Wasilla, Alaska. Palin was mayor of Wasilla before she became Governor of Alaska. It was cool because when Scott and I went to visit his friend Doug in Alaska, we were in Wasilla. Doug lives just a few minutes from the town and we grocery shopped in Wasilla.

At any rate, conservatives love her. She is big into reform and she has a high approval rate with people in Alaska. 90%!!! That's three times what Pres. Bush or Congress has right now. So, I'd say McCain did the right thing. Everyone is saying that it's a shock, but I don't think so. Scott Rasmussen said on Fox News many months ago that McCain was going to pick Palin, and sure enough he did.

Thursday, August 28, 2008

My Friends, Please Read This!

The following piece is in an article I read online tonight. Now, you might be sick and tired of hearing me carry on about politics, but this is really important. I don't know why Obama is so damn popular with people. I think that what's happening in our country is that everyone is awe over a black man being nominated to run for president of the United States. He's educated, he speaks well, and he's proving that an african american can achieve this highest honor.

Well, here is my problem with this. I don't care what color a person is. If he's not right for the job then he shouldn't get it. Obama is screaming, "Change". I'm going to change it all! Well, what is he going to do. I'm asking my friends exactly what Barack Obama is going to do to make things better in your life? You, I'm talking to you. Do you know what he is going to do to make things better in your life? Read this section of article I found:

Sen. Barack Obama will portray himself Thursday night as an agent of change for mainstream America, but his eight-year voting record in the Illinois Senate shows the Democrat was on occasion an agent of isolation who took stands - particularly on anti-crime legislation - that put him to the left of his own party.


Mr. Obama was the only member of the state Senate to vote against a bill to prohibit the early release of convicted criminal sexual abusers; was among only four who voted against bills to toughen criminal sentences and to increase penalties for "gangbangers" and dealers of Ecstasy; and voted "present" on a bill making it harder for abusive parents to regain custody of their children, a Washington Times review of Illinois legislative records show. (Present is the equivalent of voting against something.)

Isn't that amazing? The Democrats think he is too liberal. Now, you all know that I am a Republican and that means I have a pretty big bias against the Democrat nominee. But please, hear me out. I told Sally this when she said she was a big time Democrat. You have to look at what each candidate stands for and decide who's values and beliefs are closest to your own.

How would you feel if someone attacked your daughter and this convicted criminal sexual abuser gets early release because the jail is too full. Remember Obama voted against stopping the early release of these types of criminals. Who is protecting our children here. An he voted against a bill that makes it harder for abusive parents to regain custody of their kids. Wait a minute, who's protecting the children here? While we may not be able to fathom abusing our children, the reality is that it does happen. Who'll protect these little kids?

Know your candidate. This might take some research. You have to know where the candidates stand on issues that affect the public. Now, you might not be a huge George Bush fan but he did do some good things for you and for me. He got rid of the marriage penalty on our tax returns. This means that people who were claiming married on their tax returns were actually penalized compared to single people on their tax returns.

President Bush also gave you alot more money for child tax credit. Have you noticed that you get $1000 for each child on your taxes? And twice you have recieved tax rebates thanks to his lowering the tax rate. Now, Obama has stated that he will revoke all of Bush's tax cuts if he becomes President. Do you understand that this means you will pay in more taxes and will get less back at the end of the year.

Another issue that you should consider is his feelings toward abortion. You might feel that you are pro-choice and you see Obama as pro-choice....so what's the difference. Well, there is a difference. You might feel that a woman has the right to choose, but Obama doesn't draw the line there. He doesn't want a parent to know when her under-aged daughter goes to a clinic for an abortion. He doesn't want Planned Parenthood or any other provider to get parental consent. He voted against a bill that protects a child who lives through an attempted abortion. He is against making partial birth abortion illegal. Do you know what that is? Read it carefully, partial "birth" abortion. It makes me sick to even think of it so I won't describe it further.

Obama is pro gay marriage. I'm sorry but some things should be protected. Do we want a country like France where anything goes and there is nothing off limits? Do we want our children to grow up in a country that has no morals? The Bible is very clear on how the Lord feels about a man and a woman compared to two men or two women together.

There are alot of issues that you need to be concerned about. He is spouting off about the Iraq war. Now, this is important. You might not agree with the war and like that Obama says he'll have us out in 16 months. Think about this for a minute. Are we safe if he pulls our troops out in 16 months? With Iran and Syria sitting right next door do you think they will just leave Iraq alone? I honestly believe that by walking away from Iraq we open the door to more terrorism right her in our own back yards.

Does everyone agree with the Iraq war? No, I don't either, but we have to be responsible. It is what it is and we have to be responsible about securing Iraq before we go. It's common knowledge that we still have troops in Germany, Turkey and other foreign countries where we fought in our history. Iraq will probably be another one of those places and we shouldn't leave ourselves unprotected. Barack thinks that Iran is a small country and doesn't pose a threat. OH, this is such a scary way to think.

Has Barack told you where he stands on anything? Do you know how he will accomplish this change he speaks of? Have you considered the fact that Democrats have had control of Congress for two years and our country is in worse shape than it was two years ago? The President isn't the only one to blame.

Did you read the article I posted about Speaker Pelosi and the gas prices? We really need more politicians who are to the middle of the road. I haven't been a huge fan of McCain because he really is the middle of the road. I have considered the alternative here. Obama is the number 1 liberal in the Senate and Joe Biden is the number 3 liberal. This is a dangerous combination. The reason I say you have to vote for the person who is closest to your morals is because a President will choose advisors based on his positions. He will appoint judges. He will appoint Supreme Court judges. His agenda will be your agenda.

Sunday, August 24, 2008

Michigan Democrats Voting For Increase in Gas Tax

With Michigan facing such hard financial times why aren't our House democrats in session? Why aren't they trying to find a way to help the families in Michigan who are struggling to pay their house payment, their grocery bill, and fill up their cars? Why? BECAUSE THEY ARE ON VACATION.

Read the following article. If you think that a 25 cent diesel tax per gallon increase won't affect you, remember how your fuel get's to the gas station, how your groceries get to Meijer and Wal-Mart, how your trash gets picked up every week, how your natural gas or propane are delivered to your home.
************************

The Michigan Republican Party (MRP) blasts Democratic House Candidate Judy Nerat for supporting a 25-percent increase in the state diesel tax. If passed, the tax would have cost Michigan businesses more than $41 million so far this year.

House Republicans hammer Democrats for taking the summer off. An August 20th Saginaw News Editorial, also slams the Dems, hinting that they are no where near earning their more than $79,000 a year salary.

The House of Representatives has met just one time since June 28th and canceled yet another session last week. The Dems set the calendar and decide when work will be done on the massive problems facing Michigan citizens. Democrats have not scheduled for another official session until September 9th - a 10-week break since June 28th.

A Story From Kathy

It is hard to find a joke today without a dirty word or two in it, but, here is one:

Two tall trees, a birch and a beech, are growing in the woods.
A small tree begins to grow between them,
and the beech says to the birch, 'Is that a son of a beech or a son of a birch?'

The birch says he cannot tell. Just then a woodpecker lands on the sapling.
The birch says, 'Woodpecker, you are a tree expert. Can you tell if
that is a son of a beech or a son of a birch?'

The woodpecker takes a taste of the small tree.
He replies, 'It is neither a son of a beech nor a son of a birch.
It is, however, the best piece of ash I have ever put my pecker in'

Now wipe that smile off your face. And pass it on!!

From my friend Kathy Merritt

It Was A Party!

Today was a fantastic day! We had a great party and the kids had a great time. I would say that we probably had 40 kids, plus a few babies, and parents, and grandparents, aunts and uncles, and cousins. It was a great time.

I was so glad that we rented the park. The little timers (that's what Jason calls the little kids) had so much fun at Creekside Kingdom. For the $100 it cost me to rent it, boy was it worth it. They kids were occupied and they were safe. They had so much fun seeing each other after losing touch during summer break. The sad thing with John is that all his friends from preschool are basically split between Lowell's three elementary schools. John and Ben will be in Bushnell, Aiden will be going to Murray Lake, the other kids will be going to Alto. A few are going to young 5's at Bushnell but I don't know how much interaction they'll have with them. So, it was a nice farewell to the summer.

Jourdan had a boat load of girlfriends at her party too. I think she had close to 20. They probably got a little bored because the park isn't as much fun for girls their age. But we played some games and girls seem to stay busy. Plus, it took Jourdan forever to open all the gifts these girls brought. John too. Both of them have very generous friends. Really, they got so many nice gifts that it was like Christmas for both of them.

So, the food was good, the cake was good, the weather was perfect, and the games were good. Can't ask for more than that can we?

Saturday, August 23, 2008

Tomorrow is the BIG DAY! Jourdan and John's birthday party at the park. We're so excited. We've been planning this party for about 6 months.....and I spent about six months in wages to pay for it, lol. We've been shopping all day. It's all we've done for three days getting ready for this party. I think we're ready.

I had a pleasant surprise today. I took all four kids into Grand Rapids and we were gone for almost 4 hours. There was no fighting, no bickering, no name calling, no picking, no bitching. It was amazing. I didn't yell at the kids, they didn't yell at me, and they didn't yell at each other. I think I'm on to something here. Just buy them what they want and they are too happy to bitch at me or each other. Sounds like a plan!

Jason told me last week that I never buy him cool shoes. Ok. Well, I just bought all his school clothes at Hollister and American Eagle. If you have kids and they wear any of this stuff you know that you just about need a second mortgage to buy an outfit. So, after that I get the shoe guilt from Jason. So, I tell him to get online and show me these "cool shoes" that he wants. Nike Shox! And.....and you better sit down for this.....they are $140! For one pair of shoes. One left shoe and one right shoe. Not gold plated. Not diamond enhanced. Not signed by any famous person. Just $140 shoes.

Once I got over the shock I told him, "yeah right". After buying him $100 cleats for football, a $15 pink arrows t-shirt, all his school clothes, $20 worth of socks, and metal inserts for his cleats there was no way I was buying him Nike Shox! Yeah, well remember I said he was happy today?

Actually I don't mind buying him the shoes he wants. We got 20% off at MC and he was very happy to have them. I'm happy that he's happy.....that's all that counts. Now, he has cool clothes, cool cleats, and cool shoes! For Jason, life is good. For me, I'm happy that he's happy. Nuff said.

I'm having a little tiny bit of anxiety over this party tomorrow. Most of you know that all is not well in my family. My sister and I had a falling-out and it has pretty much flushed our family down the toilet. We can't have a family event because my sister is a bitch. She said some things to me about my kids, Scott and about me that I can't forgive her for. So, we don't do anything as a family. My worry is that I still invited her daughter and I don't want her showing up thinking she's welcome. It'll just turn ugly and I don't want to be put in that position in front of all our friends.

I've asked my mom about it. She doesn't kow, she tells me, because she hasn't talked to my sister. Well, I've made my feelings pretty clear to her. She didn't get invited, but I don't know how else my neice would get there. Well, until she calls me and apologizes nothing will be right and she won't be welcome in any way with my family. I'm calling my mom back right now to talk to her about it.......she doesn't like to be involved, we'll see what she has to say.

...............................

Thursday, August 21, 2008

This Is Why Gas Prices Are Staying High

The Pelosi Windfall By Bob Parks Thursday, August 14, 2008
What if it were discovered that Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi is holding up the drilling vote because she WANTS the gas prices high, so her personal investments in alternative energy would make her a lot of money?


Which brings us to Madame Speaker’s 2007 financial disclosure form. Schedule III lists “Assets and ‘Unearned Income’” of between $100,001-$250,000 from Clean Energy Fuels Corp. — Public Common Stock. Clean Energy Fuels Corp. (CLNE) is a natural gas provider founded by T. Boone Pickens. Yep, that T. Boone Pickens — former oilman turned wind-power evangelist whose ads touting a national wind campaign are now as ubiquitous as Viagra promos.
Pickens and Pelosi share the same talking points downplaying the need to drill and open up more access to American oil. Instead, the Pickens pie-in-the-sky plan proposes to replace natural gas with wind power in power generation and theoretically free up natural gas for America’s transportation needs.


Now, let’s follow that money.


As reported on dontgomovement.com, Speaker Pelosi bought between $50,000 and $100,000 worth of stock in Pickens’ CLNE Corp. in May 2007 on the day of the initial public offering:
“She, and other investors, stand to gain a substantial return on their investment if gasoline prices stay high, and municipal, state and even the Federal governments start using natural gas as their primary fuel source. If gasoline prices fall? Alternative fuels and the cost to convert fleets over to them become less and less attractive.”


If this is true and the mainstream media catches wind of it (big IF), Pelosi could single-handedly doom the Democrat Party’s hold on the Congress and Senate.


It sucks we have to rely on the media

You can read this on: http://www.canadafreepress.com/index.php/article/4461

And Now We Shop

The week is finally wrapping up....workwise for me. Today is my day off. I've been sick as a dog and thought I might get caught up on my sleep last night. Yeah right, Sam was up by 5:30 am. She likes to torture me. She's all about waking up early. And that's after not sleeping all night. Hmmmmm!

She's so funny. She is one active baby. Scott and Jason don't know how I can chase after her 24/7. This is after just 3 weeks of working.....ahhh they are finally understanding what I'm up against. The only difference is they blockade the doorways and sit in here with her. They don't do the laundry, the dishes, the housework....they just take care of her. Well, that's a good thing because I want them to take care of her. But, men don't get it when it comes to doing it ALL.

Today, we are going birthday party shopping and school clothes shopping. Yes, I'm into punishing myself. Taking a baby shopping is not the best decision I've ever made but that's just how it is. I keep telling myself that Sam will be ok, she'll be happy. I'm just fooling myself.

So Janice is meeting me at Costco to order the kids birthday cakes for Sunday. I hope they want something good. Costco makes the best cake that has this mousse filling... OMG it's so good.

So that's my agenda for today. Probably some homework too. I started a new class yesterday. "Alternative Dispute Resolution". It looks really hard but I haven't dug into the book yet.

Have a great day.

Tuesday, August 19, 2008

Did You Know?

Obama voted against a piece of legislation called the "Born-Alive Infants Protection Act", which was intended to extend legal rights to an infant born even after an attempted abortion.

Go To: http://www.nrlc.org/ObamaBAIPA/Obamacoveruponbornalive.htm

Did you see the interview with both candidates at Saddleback Church! Think about this:

McCain answered his questions quickly but with thought and no preconceived notion that he had to fool some of the voters. He spoke from his heart. When the good Reverend asked him "Where does life begin" he stated emphatically, "at conception".

When Obama was asked, he fumbled and himhawed and finally his response...."whether your looking at it from a theological standpoint or a scientific perspective....answering that with specificity is above my pay-grade". WHAT? He is running for President of the United States. He can't answer this very important question. Did you see this interview? He stumbled and stumbled and soundled like a complete idiot saying this.

McCain said flat out that he is Prolife and that his Presidency would have Prolife views. Obama....what would your presidency hold for unborn babies?

You could just see Obama's wheels turning during this whole interview. He really had to put thought into his answers before he opened his mouth. What was going on inside his head? "Who will I piss off by saying this?" So, just answer with vague responses. The little people out there are idiots and they won't realize i'm not actually answering these tough questions. Yeah, ok.

Next, the whole deal with Iraq. He'll pull out our troops in 16 months regardless of what our military leaders say. That is smart. We'll be having another 9/11 with this guy at the helm. The middle east will become unstable because Iran will move in and then oil prices will be $200 a barrell. I've always wanted to pay $8.00 a gallon for gas.

So, if he's not listening to Gen. Petraeus who is he listening to? When Rev. Warren asked him he said he would seek the advice of his wife and his grandma. WHAT??? He's a moron. Doesn't he think that Gen. Petraeus would be the wisest person to discuss the issues we face today on the war against terror? We've been safe since 2001 because of men like him. I guess Michelle Obama or his grannie know more than Petraeus does.

Now, this hits everyone. What about offshore drilling. Obama said that if you put air in your tires it'll make up the difference of the high gas prices. Put air in your tire and you'll magically feel better about the $130 it cost to fill your car. Ok.

While offshore drilling may not completely save us from foreign oil, won't it help? Won't it help to have millions of barrels of oil coming from our own drilling? When we don't have to buy the overinflated oil from the sand-diggers we'll finally get some relief at the pump. Won't happen unless we start drilling domestically.

Did you know that Democrat Speaker Pelosi blocked a vote to lift the ban on offshore drilling and then adjourned congress for a 5 week recess? She doesn't care that you are paying too much for gas. She has ownership in an alternative fuel deal and will stand to make alot of money if gas prices stay high. I'm going to post an article on this....so read above.

I haven't been the biggest cheerleader for McCain. I have felt like he is not a full Republican because sometimes he sides with Democrats. Well I started thinking about something he said recently. He said that he has sided with Republicans when it has been in the best interest of our country, and when it wasn't he sided with the Democrats. That made sense to me. Can Obama say that he looks at what is best for our country? Or does he stick to his ultra-liberal gang and vote with the far left regardless of the effects on our country? Well, if you do a search online for his voting record you will see that he is near the top of being the most liberal senator in Congress.

I've already talked about the bill he voted against that protects little babies born alive after attempted abortions. I've said this before, if he had it his way we would all be driving Geo Metro's, paying $5.00 a gallon, they would be doing abortions on every street corner, children could go have abortions without parents even knowing about it, we would never cut down a tree, and we'd only use one square of toilet paper to wipe our ass.

This only applies to the little guy of course, politicians don't have to live by the same rules.

We're Not Perfect

Ya know, I read a comment to one of my posts that has me thinking. As mom's we need to remember that we are not perfect. We can't make everyone happy all the time. We have to take the information we have at any given moment and make the best decision we can. That's all we can do. Do we make mistakes? Of course we do. We're human.

Mom's try to be SuperMom. It's just not reality. If someone seems to be like SuperMom....well you aren't seeing the whole story. Nobody is SuperMom, period!

So, if you make a decision that pissed somebody off...well, just tell yourself that it's unfortunate they feel that way and that you made the best decision you could. Then, move on! Feel good about yourself. Mom's have a very tough job. We juggle kids, their schedules, husbands, pets, our homes, and work. We are allowed an occasional meltdown. If it happens, pull yourself up by the bootstraps and say, "hey, I tried".

Don't be so hard on yourself. Yes, I'm talking to YOU! You are a wonderful and beautiful person and I'm glad that I know you.

Sunday, August 17, 2008

WTF!

The "Obama" Prayer

Our Obama, who art from heaven, or Hawaii, or possibly Chicago,

Liberal be thy name,

Thy presidency come,

Thy will be done,

On Earth, as it is in San Francisco.

Give us this day our daily handouts.

And forgive us our individualism,

As we forgive those who don't properly inflate their tires.

And lead us not into the Clintons,

But deliver us from McCain

For thine is the kingdom,

and the power, and the glory,f

or two full terms.

Saturday, August 16, 2008

Let's Party

Good morning everyone!

Little Sami Starfish didn't let me sleep again last night. I think her teeth are bothering her so bad. Thursday night she didn't sleep well so I was tired all day Friday. It took me over an hour to get her down last night....which is very unusual. Then, just before 1am she woke up and it went downhill from there. She was up 6 ot 7 times! Not just fussing a little, but screaming bloody murder to get out of her bed. So, it was a long night.

Now, she's sitting her her highchair eating toast and is happy as can be. Little stinker.

We mailed out invitations to the big party yesterday. We mailed 55! I was telling Kathie and Ann yesterday that we'd sent out that many. Ann says, what are you doing? Having everyone bring a dish to pass? No. I'm just going to wing it I guess, lol. It hadn't really occurred to me that this was a HUGE party and that one invitation might mean 2 - 4 people. This is good, the kids will love having a big party for their birthday. I just pray that the weather is good for us.

So, Scott is taking a vacation day. We'll pull it all together and we'll have a great time. Jourdan and John are very excited! I wanted to order two cakes from Sam's Club but I don't think my membership from work will be added yet. We'll see. If not, I'll be baking up a storm too. Nobody will go hungry that's for sure.

Friday, August 15, 2008

It's Easier To Talk

Last night I added a new blog to my site. It's for sharing recipee's. I've already posted one for Snickers Cheesecake, so you can check that out if you want. The link is on the top right side. In addition to that, I made it easier to talk on my blog. I changed the settings so anyone can post and you don't have to go through all the security stuff. Basically put in a name you make up, or you can check "anonymous" and post, if you want to talk to me.

So, it's finally Friday. YEAH! It's a beautiful morning. I almost feel like fall is getting here. I know that it's still August and there is plenty of summer left, but the cooler nights and mornings make me feel fallish. It's my favorite time of year. I don't like winter, snow is too messy. I hate having to bundle the kids up before I go anywhere. I worry about Jason being on the roads this winter on his own. I like fall. The days are sunny and cool, my favorite time of year.

I signed John up for Flag Football last night. We went with Aiden's mom, and he signed up too. John is really excited about playing. He hears Jason talk about football every single day, so now he has his own football to talk about. When we were leaving we ran into Janice, she was signing Brady up for football too. This is going to be a very fun football season!

Thursday, August 14, 2008

Lowell Pink Arrows?

Our illustrious football coach, Noel Dean, has decided to put our Varsity football players in PINK jerseys for their first home game on September 12, 2008 against Holland. At first, I thought this was crazy. The poor players are going to get teased like crazy. Well, I hope that's not the case.

Lowell is going crazy right now for pink. The football players will be in pink jersey's. The band will be in pink, the cheerleaders in pink. I think it's going to be a "pink-out". I wonder what the Holland players will think.....and their fans? We're going to have to kick their asses to prove they are still guys. But that's ok.

So everyone is flocking to Pep Talk to buy "Pink Arrow Pride" t-shirts. If you wear one to the first game you get in free. You also get to walk in the parade from the school down to the field and take a victory lap around the track in honor of a cancer survivor....or one you have lost to cancer. So, what's all the pink about? Cancer! All the money we are paying for the pink is going to benefit breast cancer. What a fantastic deal huh?

The players had a chance to buy their jersey's. They were $200! I guess that quite a few kids didn't buy theirs. The ones who didn't have theirs bought will be auctioned off by silent auction after the game. The chick from pep talk told me tonight that she has a bid in as high as $1000! Wow! Another for $500.

So, it's for a good cause. It'll be interesting to see all of these kids in pink. I'm thinking it's going to get some news attention. Normally, I don't like busy games like that. But since Jason is playing this year, I will certainly be there.

Work

Well, I survived week two at work. I'm still training, but things are starting to come together. I discovered yesterday that being at work has been great for my eating habits. I have lost.......oh.....I think around 3 or 4 pounds since I started working. I think what happens is that I get to work and before I know it it's 1:00pm and I have a small lunch. Then it's 5pm. So, at least the day goes by fast. And, if I were home, I would be eating.

Scott has been working really hard at losing weight for a couple weeks now. He's in a contest at work and he is determined to win. I don't know how he has the energy to exercise like he has, but he's doing it. After working 12 hours he's coming home and running. Yesterday, I was gone 10 1/2 hours and I was so exhausted by the time I came home that I didn't even want to change my clothes.

I did of course, and cleaned up from dinner, folded three loads of laundry, and put a load in the washer and the dryer. No rest for the weary! Well, I should say, no rest for the mom's. But today is my day off so I can catch up.

If I could only find the energy to walk with Scott after work. He asks me everyday but I feel like I have been thrown to the lions by going back to work. I am still getting used to being gone 9 hours a day. I won't always be this way, but until I get into a weekly routine at work, it'll be hectic. I should still be walking with Scott, regardless.

Is anyone else excited about school starting again? My kids are! I think that Jason is just excited that football is just around the corner. He's been having two-a-days for practice this week and they are even practicing on Saturday. Scott said he's been really tired this week and I can imagine. He's up at 6am for practice for 5 hours of running, hitting, and throwing. I know he's exhausted too. But, he's excited to start playing. Especially since he was out all last season.

Jourdan is excited to see what changes they've made at the Middle School. They've been doing remodeling all summer long. She misses her friends too. We're just getting ready to do her birthday party invitations today, so she's excited about that too.

Last, but not least, John. He's starting Kindergarden this year and he is so ready to get back to school. He was so sad when preschool was done. I felt bad for him because he wanted to keep going to school, and he needs to go back to school. He really misses having something to do. I think he get's bored at home. He wants to see his friends. He's really excited that he gets to go to school for a whole day like Jason and Jourdan and that he gets to eat lunch at school. That is a biggie!

So today, we're off to get school shoes....I think. Plus, invitations for the birthday party we're having for Jourdan and John. We need to print those and get them to the post office today. Their party is a week and a half away and need to get them in the mail. I've only been planning it for 3 months....not like I could have done it sooner....what a moron.

Saturday, August 9, 2008

Football Is Near

If you know me, you know I LOVE football. The Ohio State Buckeyes are my favorite! They are about 6 weeks from their first game and we are so excited. One of my favorite things to watch on TV, other than football, is the intro to College Gameday. It's a video and song sung by Big & Rich and I've put it here on my blog. Hit play to see it!

How fun is it to live in Michigan and be an Ohio State fan! It really pisses people off. It's like being a Republican in Michigan. Nobody likes you and there is alot of pointing and staring! Sore losers, lol. Just kidding. I'm hoping to send Jason and Scott to a game for Jason's birthday. That's what he's asking for his birthday. We bought him tickets before to see Ohio State play Michigan State. We bought them online from a season ticket holder who wasn't going because MSU sucks! Well, I don't know about that, I've always like MSU. It's M Go Blow that I don't like. But, I must admit, the rivalry is fun. It get's everyone in a tizzy.

It feels like fall to me tonight. I opened up all the windows earlier because it was so nice outside. There is a cool breeze coming in and it smells like fall. I love that smell. I like all the night music that the little insects make....I wonder what those are called? It reminds me of when I was a kid....I'm talking about the fresh air from a cool night smell. I remember sitting on the front porch with my dad when I was a kid. He would be drinking a beer and we'd sit there and look at the stars. It was forever ago, we didn't even have the garage on the house....so I must have been really young. Anyhow, it just reminds me of a cool summer night. Ahhhhhhhhhhh.

Janice and Reggie are camping at Silver Lake right now. They picked a great time to go because it's not so damn hot. Then, to have the beautiful, cool, fresh air of the night....perfect!

And, believe it or not, it's just after 10:30pm and all is quiet in my house. Sami went to sleep around 8:30pm and John was out shortly after. He played outside today and never had a nap....so he was tired. He didn't even make it into his jammies. Sami did! She had her first Oreo tonight. Well, she was black and had to go straight into the tub. So, she smells baby-fresh and no more chocolate from head to toe. It was really quite cute. She even tore the thing in two and ate one half, then the other half with the frosting on it. She was digging it, but boy did she make a mess.

If you're interested, Youtube has alot of good Ohio State video footage. Come on, I know you're all closet Buckeye fans!

Friday, August 8, 2008

Petition For Lower Gas Prices

Hi everyone!

I was doing a little research for a political post and came across an article that I thought was very interesting. As you all know, several weeks ago President Bush lifted the ban on offshore drilling and the price of a barrel of oil dropped by about $25 in the same week. Now, our gas prices are going down a little bit.

Here is the stickler, I still think we are paying too much. Would you be happy paying less than $2 a gallon again? Yeah, me too. Have you noticed how much more diesel is? Scott and I are getting raked over the coals by paying so much for diesel.

So, Pres. Bush lifted the ban on domestic drilling and it was Congress's turn to do the same. They need to take a vote on it to see if it will pass. 75% of American's agree with offshore drilling. Right now $700 million a year of our money is going overseas to terrorists. We can drill for oil right here in the United States and keep some of this money ourselves. Instead of $4 a gallon, we could be paying under $2.00!

So, what does Speaker Pelosi do? She refuses to let the thing come to a vote! Then, she lets everyone go for a 5 week recess. Well, she had to run around and promote a new book she just wrote. That is much more important than helping us working people by getting gas prices down.

Do you realize how much the cost of fuel affects your life and your budget. It has caused the cost of food to increase by 25%. It costs 25% more to heat our homes. It costs $100 or more to fill the tank when it used to cost $30!

Here's the deal, Newt Gingrich is collecting signatures to show Congress that we want them to vote on an energy bill that includes more domestic drilling. The fact is, the more oil available, the lower the price will be. Makes sense doesn't it? Because right now, the terrorists have us by the short-hairs and they can set the price of oil at any price they want. So, go to this website and sign the petition that says you want Congress to pull their head of out of their ass and vote on this so we can get a little help, financially, before the heating season starts.

go to:

http://www.americansolutions.com/

You can sign the petition and send it to your friends. Send it to everyone.

There are some people who are so quick to judge President Bush. Blame it all on him. These are the people who don't know how government operates. First of all, President Bush doesn't make laws, Congress does. Bush has the capacity to veto a law, but Congress can go back and overturn that with a 2/3 vote. But the bills are introduced, voted on, and passed for defeated in Congress. Who is in the majority right now in Congress? DEMOCRATS! They've been there for two years!

Look, this is a bi-partisan petition. It doesn't matter who you like. What matters is whether or not you want the price of gas to go down. So, please pass it along.

Tracy

The Man In The Other Bed

THE MAN IN THE OTHER BED



It will take just 37 seconds to read this and change your thinking.

Two men, both seriously ill, occupied the same hospital room. One man was allowed to sit up in his bed for an hour each afternoon to help drain the fluid from his lungs. His bed was next to the room's only window.

The other man had to spend all his time flat on his back. The men talked for hours on end. They spoke of their wives and families, their homes, their jobs, their involvement in the military service, where they had been on vacation.

Every afternoon, when the man in the bed by the window could sit up, he would pass the time by describing to his roommate all the things he coul d see outside the window. The man in the other bed began to live for those one hour periods where his world would be broadened and enlivened by all the activity and color of the world outside.

The window overlooked a park with a lovely lake. Ducks and swans played on the water while children sailed their model boats. Young lovers walked arm in arm amidst flowers of every color and a fine view of the city skyline could be seen in the distance.

As the man by the window described all this in exquisite details, the man on the other side of the room would close his eyes and imagine this picturesque scene. One warm afternoon, the man by the window described a parade passing by. Although the other man could not hear the band, he could see it in his mind's eye as the gentleman by the window portrayed it with descriptive words.

Days, weeks and months passed. One morning, the day nurse arrived to bring water for their baths only to find the lifeless body of the man by the window, who had died peacefully in his sleep. She was saddened and called the hospital attendants to take the body away.

As soon as it seemed appropriate, the other man asked if he could be moved next to the window. The nurse was happy to make the switch, and after making sure he was comfortable, she left him alone. Slowly, painfully, he propped himself up on one elbow to take his first look at the real world outside.

He strained to slowly turn to look out the window besides the bed. It faced a blank wall. The man asked the nurse what could have compelled his deceased roommate who had described such wonderful things outside this window. The nurse responded that the man was blind and could not even see the wall. She said, 'Perhaps he just wanted to encourage you.'


Epilogue: There is tremendous happiness in making others happy, despite our own situations. If you want to feel rich, just count all the things you have that money can't buy. 'Today is a gift, that is why it is called The Present .'


This was sent to me via email from my friend Alice.

Wednesday, August 6, 2008

Where Is the Honesty?

I found the honesty Friday, August 1, 2008! After our fantastic vacation in St. Ignace I did the stupidest thing. It was so stupid that it made me cry! On our way home from up north we stopped at the Welcome Center rest area in Claire. We all got out and I thought Scott was going to stay in the truck while we went in. He decided to go in and get a map, so I grabbed my wallet off the dash and brought it with me.

When I went into the bathroom, I waited for Jourdan to come out and she took Sam. You know the big stainless steel toilet paper holders in the bathroom? Well, I go in and I laid my wallet on top of that. Then, I walked out without it.

What an idiot! So, I don't know I've done this and we all get back into the truck and Scott decides to have me drive. I get back on the expressway and immediately there is an exit for Claire. John and Jourdan are saying they are hungry, so I go across 3 or 4 lanes of traffic to get off the highway. A miracle in itself because I had the camper behind me.

We pull into McDonalds and stop. I go to reach for my wallet and I immediatley realize I left it in the bathroom stall in the rest stop! I AM FREAKING OUT!!!! All of our money is in MY wallet. All of it, and my credit cards, debit card, soc. sec. card, the kids soc sec cards, library cards, and a crap load of other important stuff. Of course, I start to pull back out of the parking lot...we're way in the back....and some stupid old woman is driving a motorhome and she can't figure out how to drive the damn thing through the parking lot. She just stops and blocks all the traffic. In the meantime, I'm behind her....tailgaiting her in my truck with the camper behind us and I'm having a fit.

So, after ten minutes we finally get back on the expressway only to pass the reststop. The northbound exit is before the onramp we used. So, I'm having a meltdown...and I'm driving. Scott is yelling at me to pull over so he can drive. Then he tells me to get on HWY 10! What? Why HWY10???? Since I'm having a meltdown I do and then there are no exits. No exits, just a barren desert filled with highway.

I pull over and let Scott drive. Just down the road we see an "Authorized Vehicle Only" turn-around and we use it anyways. The whole time we're heading back....and now we're about 6 miles away from the reststop and it's been 30 minutes....I'm praying in a whisper:

"Please God, let it be there"

over and over and over! Well, I guess he was listening. I literally ran inside and it was gone from the bathroom but when I went to the counter a woman said it was in the drawer. I opened up the zipper and all of our money was there. If you opened a wallet and saw $100 bills, what would you do? Some honest woman found my wallet and brought it to the desk. Nothing was missing....it was all there. I asked if they knew who it was, they said no.

A woman went into that reststop and did something that most people would not have done. She was honest and kind enough to return my wallet to me with our vacation money still in it. Maybe it was my guardian angel?

To Keep My Sanity

I didn't get home until almost 7pm tonight....that is a new feeling. I'm working and I don't know how excited I am about it. It's not the work, it's what I'm missing at home that is making me feel icky. My boss tells me yesterday before I leave that he has a meeting in the morning so not to come in until 10-11ish. He was going to show me how to do payroll. Ok!

So I get to work at 10 and he's busy the whole day. I'm busy the whole day and don't get out of work until 6:30pm. I'm super tired and not used to being gone all day like this. I can work whatever schedule I want, but I get so wrapped up in what I'm doing all of the sudden it's 6:00.

Well then I get home and the kids are running out to the truck before I even get out. Tonight I came in the house and John is crying, Sam is in her bed screaming, Jourdan is bitching.......what did I get myself into?

I feel like the house is falling apart in my absense. Scott says everything is super-fine. I don't feel that way. I feel like I am gone about 20 hours, I'm tired, I miss the kids, and then I come home and it's utter chaos. Scott thinks, and I agree, that once I have a set schedule that they can depend on things will be better. If I'm getting out at 5pm on a regular basis then everyone will know when to expect me. He said it's a little frustrating not knowing when I'll be home. I can understand that. I definitely need to go in earlier and get out by 4ish.

I'm trying to remind myself of why i'm working:
  • To help out with bills.
  • To have Christmas money.
  • To have money to buy groceries. (Do you know how much a teenage boy eats????)
  • To buy school clothes. (Do you know how much a Hollister shirt costs?)
  • To have birthday money for the kids.
  • To be able to go out on a date with Scott and actually be able to afford it.
  • Set money aside for vacation next summer. (We saved a year for this years vacation up north.)
  • To keep my sanity.

Did I cover everything? I still hate being away from the kids. I missed out on alot with Jason and Jourdan when they were little. I am really sad to be leaving and going to work. People keep telling me that it'll be good for me and good for the kids. Well, it just feels stressful to me right now. But, I think we'll get into a routine and then things will be ok. Bottom line, they are here with Scott and that's good for him too.

Tuesday, August 5, 2008

Working Girl

Hi everyone! As of yesterday, I'm once again a working girl. I am working in the main office of Two Men & A Truck doing all of their bookkeeping and payroll. I'm really enjoying it so far. Two days almost 10 hours and I'm exhausted. I'm really not used to being away from home. It's a part-time job so I won't be away from the kids too much, but the hours are a little longer while I'm training. But, so far so good!

I'm laughing because I'm making like I wasn't a working girl before yesterday. Four kids, one husband, and two dogs......yeah, I wasn't working! HA! Scott has been great. He's been here taking care of the kids while I work and then he'll work the days that I'm home. I did have to tell him that the laundry is OFF LIMITS! He doesn't comprehend that you can't throw EVERYTHING in the dryer. All of his cotton shirts would be about 8 inches above his waistband if he did the laundry, lol.

So, along with the job, it's life as usual around here. I'm almost done with my American Women History class. This is my last week and my big project is actually due tonight. I've been working on this thing for 8 weeks. A paper on Victoria Woodhull, the first woman to run for President. And she did it in 1872! She was also the first woman to speak in front of the House Judiciary Committee. She was also the first female stockbroker on Wall St.

Anyhow, I don't want to bore you with that. It's been my life for the last 8 weeks for every spare moment I have once the kids are in bed.

Right now, as I write, I'm on hold with AT&T. I'm waiting for tech support because my email isn't working. I didn't know until Alice called and said her emails were returned to her. So, if anyone has sent me an email today and it got returned, please resend it tomorrow because I didn't get it. Let's see, I've been on hold for......22 minutes and 32 seconds. Hmmmm! What a waste of time. It really irritates me that a business can place you on hold for so long and then expect you to be Mrs. Niceguy! I'll be ripping someone a new ass if they ever answer the phone.

Well, I have a few odds and ends to write about but I'll save it for another day. I have to finish this damn report for class. Sami is in bed, Scott and John are on a walk, Jason is downstairs and Jourdan is hanging out in the garden picking greenbeans. So, while I have a quiet minute I'll do some homework.

PS. John learned how to ride his bike today without training wheels. And, his knees are blood free.

Saturday, August 2, 2008

St. Ignace

Did you think I was gone.....forever???

No, we were on vacation. We went camping in St. Ignace for the week. We had the best time! The weather was about 72 degrees and sunny all week long. It was fantastic. It was quite the shock to leave yesterday with the temp being 72 and when we got out of the truck in Claire, it was 86 degrees!

We had a great time and the kids really enjoyed camping. They spent most of the week on the beach. Sami even got in the water. It was so cute. We were hanging out on Thursday on the beach. Scott and John were flying a huge kite we bought at the Mackinaw Kite Company, Jason and Jourdan were swimming and skipping rocks, and Sami and I were hanging out on a big beach blanket watching all the activity. Pretty soon, she crawls out into the sand. Hmm, this looks good enough to eat....and she did. Then she headed down to the water. Luckily the lake is really shallow so she crawled to the edge of the water and sat there while the waves came in over her lap. She LOVED it! I'm going to see if I can post some photo's on my blog. I think I can, but haven't tried it yet.

We did the usual. The first day we went to Clydes for lunch and then hit all the shopping hotspots. Indian Village, Castle Rock, Murdick's Fudge. John was giddy with excitement over Indian Village. I got the coolest pictures of the kids on the boardwalk that runs behind it....that's what I'll try to post on my site.

John was in St. Ignace when he was only 2 but he couldn't remember any of it. It was a whole new experience and the kids had a great time. We went to the lighthouse and they climbed that, and several other stores, of course. We even drove up to Sault Ste. Marie so the kids could see the Soo Locks. When we got there an 800 ft freighter was just pulling in and they got to see it being raised up to go up river. It was perfect timing.

And, we visited Mackinac City, of course. We went into the shops and bought bags of popcorn from the Popcorn Factory. Jason, John, and Scott picked out a really cool 7ft kite at the Mackinac Kite Company. Most of all, John loved going back over the bridge.

I took probably a hundred photo's. We have a camping scrapbook that we keep of all the trips we take in our camper. Jourdan and I are chomping at the bit to work on this vacation. I have to go get the pictures printed and we'll work on it this week.

So, for our long awaited week in St. Ignace we had a GREAT time. The kids had so much fun. There was very little bickering, which is amazing. But we all had a good time and hope that we get to go back last summer. The only part of this great vacation that really pisses me off, over $550 in diesel for the week! We don't need to drill for oil domestically? Stick it up your ass Barack!