Saturday, June 28, 2008

Republican or Democrat Congress....They Both Stink!

Now you've got me started. I already said that I love politics. I was talking to a friend of mine this week and she said that President Bush "ruined this country". Scott spoke up and said, "Or maybe the Democrat congress has ruined the country?" I thought fists would fly, lol. I thought I better check this out. I started thinking about how long the Democrats have had control of Congress and I started wondering about what they have done.

Does anyone remember that our Democrat congress couldn't even put a bill together that fixes the AMT and it delayed everyone being able to file their tax returns this year?


Democrats are invested in failure in Iraq even as Rep. John Murtha (D-PA) concedes that Gen. Petraeus’ security strategy is “working” and independent media report that conditions on the ground are indisputably improving.

Democrat failure to enact an emergency troop funding bill that does not undermine our forces’ success in Iraq.

Democrat failure to shield Americans from higher taxes under the AMT; refunds to 32 million taxpayers could be delayed next year.

Democrat failure to pass a FISA bill that permanently closes the terrorist loophole.

Democrat failure to pass 11 of the 12 annual budget bills that fund basic government services.

Democrat failure to pass a “commonsense” energy plan, as promised, that produces new energy and reduces prices for Americans.

Democrat failure to live up to their promises on earmark reform and sign the House Republican earmark reform petition.

Democrats plan an historic $3.5 trillion tax increase.

Democrats’ rock-bottom approval ratings. (Congress’ Approval Rating at 20%; Bush’s Approval at 32%)


And now, for the thing that pisses me off the most! President Bush has asked Congress to lift the ban on domestic oil drilling....they have said NO! They claim that they high gas prices will be Bush's legacy, but what about Congress? We tend to forget that the President cannot act alone and neither can Congress. So, aren't both parties to blame for the gas prices? What is going to happen when gas hits $7.00 a gallon and people can't even afford to get to work? I'm sick to death of hearing democrat strategists on Fox News saying, "We have to cut back, we have to buy hybrids and fuel efficient cars". Well can we all afford to purchase a new fuel efficient car? What about right now? What happens to people who need the help right now? Do they honestly think that the farmers can cut back on their diesel consumption? Or truckers? It's their jobs and families on the line...they have to consume fuel to make money to sustain life! So, I guess we'll just keep paying more and more for fuel. Because, it's going to be George Bush's legacy and according to the Democrats, he deserves it.

Now, in some fairness, I'll give my two cents worth about the Republicans who didn't do anything for the two years prior to the Democrats coming in...with regard to gas prices. Pull your heads out of your asses! People weren't happy with the Republicans either and that's why they lost control of Congress in 2006. I just don't happen to think we're any better off.

No comments:

Post a Comment