Monday, June 14, 2010

To Go Or To Stay?

I'm sitting here trying to decide what I want to write about tonight.  Let's get the bitching out of the way first.  I"M STILL SICK!  I'm over 3 weeks of being sick with no end in sight.  And now John and Jourdan don't feel good.  Know what that means?  I'll start feeling better just in time to catch the cootie again from one of the kids.  WTF!  It's summer and I'm sick.

Ok, I'm done with that now.  I'm actually laying here in bed watching "Big Time Rush".  Have you seen it?  It's a kids show and John LOVES it!  He's made a nest on the floor in our bedroom and insists on having control of the TV.  I don't mind since I'm busy on the computer, but still.....

I've been thinking about Beth's post from yesterday.  Her posts always have meaning!  Sometimes serious, sometimes bitching, sometimes funny.  And here I am wondering what to write.  Nobody wants to listen to me bitching about politics.  I'll save that for when it gets closer to election time, lol.

OH, by the way, the human buzz-saw is back.  Earlier, I said to Scott, "you sound a little snotty."  And he said, "yeah, I am a little snotty".  What he's got goin on is more than a little snotty.  Well, at least he's getting the funk first....I'll be getting it for sure.

Ok, I think I have a good topic.  Something I'm struggling with right now.  Scott has been hounding me mercilessly to send resume's out to prospective employers.  He's looking every day at the want-ads and then he hounds me to death until I send out resume's.  I've been called for 3 interviews in the last two weeks and I think that the place I interviewed with last Wednesday is going to offer me a job when I meet with them again this Wednesday.  During my interview, I got the distinct feeling that they wanted to offer me a job right then and there.  But the attorney was running around the office frantic looking for something for court.

The first interview was for a part-time position in an attorney's office that needed a little bookkeeping and then alot of collection work.  The job that I interviewed for last week is for a full-time paralegal position.  This attorney specializes in bankruptcy and Family Law.  The two areas I really focused on.

I know that I should be thankful to even have a chance at a paralegal position when I don't have any real experience....only school.  I'm struggling right now because I'm so comfortable in the job I have now.  I work part-time and I come and go as I please....as long as my work gets done.  It's flexible and I love the people I work with.  It boils down to money. 

No surprise there.  When I told one of my co-workers that I was considering a job change she started to cry and told me that she didn't want me to leave.  What I explained is that it is hard for me as well but I'd been in the same job for almost 2 years without a pay increase.  That can be really discouraging for any employee.  I'm not the only one in this position at my office. 

Anyhow, I told Jenny that it's not a hobby.  I don't go to work for the fun of it.  People work to make money, right?  I just don't know that I see a great future where I'm at.  I love the job and all, but I do it for pay and not for fun.  So, that's my dilema.

The job I'm looking at is full-time, so that will take some adjustment around here.  Some nights I'll have to stay as late as 7pm.  I'm just really struggling over making a change.  Trust me, I'm extremely happy to even have the opportunity to talk to someone about a job.  The economy sucks so bad here in Michigan and the jobs are not as plentiful as they used to be.  So I know that I should be thankful and shouldn't be bitching about it.  I'm not, I'm just not sure of what to do right now.

I don't really want to be away from my kids 40+ hours a week.  It's about a 35 minute drive each way and I'm going to have alot more money in daycare with this job.  Actually, I'll have over $100 a week in daycare and that is just a shit-load of money when you stop and think about it.  I just don't know if I'll be ahead of where I'm at now.

It's a little scary because Jenny and I were just talking about this about 2 weeks ago, that we wished our boss would do annual reviews with pay increases when deserved.  I shit-you-not, within a week of our discussing that we all get an email saying that our boss will be doing individual annual reviews on each of us.  We joked that the office might be bugged! 

So what would you do?  I don't take my job or any job offer for granted.  I know I'm lucky to even have the opportunity to talk to someone about a new job.  I also know that I have it really good where I'm at right now.  I'm scared to give that up for a job that I might end up not liking.  Then what do I do?  I have to work. 

Sorry, right now I have to get something for Scott's nose....sudafed or something.  He's snoring so fucking loud that I can't even concentrate on what I'm typing.  Could be a long night...I'm guessing I'll end up in my recliner before the night is over.

2 comments:

  1. First of all, I hope everyone feels better soon. It does suck to be sick; Dolly and I just got over a cold cootie recently.

    Second, "Big Time Rush" is one of the favorite shows around here. Four of the cast members are on my FB friend list so the kids can find out when the new shows are going to air and to find out when the cast will be in which areas performing. One of the members even Inboxes with me occasionally. It's fun.

    Now, about the job; I'll tell you what I would do if I were in your position. Ahem; I have a great job working part time for a great company but I've worked there for two years without a pay increase. I've got a degree in Paralegal Studies that I want to utilize but going from working part time to full time would require a buttload of change around my house and I may not even like the job once I start it. So, to make everything easy on everyone, and to acclimate myself with the Paralegal field, I'd offer my services to the local attorneys as a freelancer.

    It would serve two purposes. 1) I'd learn the ins and outs of my local court/legal system without being tied down 40+ hours a week and; 2)it would save the attorneys money because they wouldn't have to pay me per hour, just by the job; and they wouldn't have to supply me with any benefits or insurance. I'd pick up the work and take it home, or show up to the office to do the work when the job was available, get the work done, return it and get paid.

    Freelancing would also allow me to decide if there was a specific area of law that I'd like to continue working in and it would also give me the experience to demand a higher pay rate when I felt comfortable enough to actually work for an attorney full time.

    I hope that helps you, but, remember, it's just what I would do.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ya know what darlin? My sister gave the me same advice. Seriously! And it's what Scott and I talked about tonight. I've decided not to take the job. I already told them and they called and pleaded with me to come in again to discuss it with them. Interesting huh? And they upped the ante by $2 an hour. I still don't feel it's the job for me. I love where I'm at and decided to approach some of the small town attorney's that are local to me. Thanks for backing up my gut decision....makes me feel much better about the choice I made.

    ReplyDelete