Wednesday, October 14, 2009

I Think I've Settled In

I'm not so crazy right now about being 40. I've tried really hard to set it aside. I don't feel any different than I did on Thursday of last week so I've decided to put it out of my mind for a while.

In the meantime, it's time for a Dieting Update!!!! Well, I have been working my ass off, literally, to lose weight. I've lost a few more pounds. I started thinking about this....since the end of February I have lost over 20 pounds! I especially notice it in my clothes. I'm trying really hard not to weigh myself everyday. My problem is that my water weight fluctuates so much, that I might be off by a couple of pounds from day to day.

I have to remind myself to step on the scale only on Fridays. I'm trying to make myself stick to it because that seems to be my best day. Here's the deal. I have found a way to lose weight. I did it before, and lost 40 pounds. Can't remember how I did it. When I look back at it I feel like it just fell off. Well, we both know it didn't just fall off. I just happened to find what worked for me at that time, and well lets face it, I was 10 years younger.

Back to what I was saying, I have finally found my way to lose weight. I'm being mindful of what I eat during the week. I'm trying very hard to stick to my diet. This week was very challenging, and I'll get to that in a minute. But on Saturday I don't diet. I'm not saying that I pig out and I don't get all crazy on junk food, but if I want pizza I have it. If I want chili, I make it. I know, I've already talked about my Saturday off thing.

I just hadn't realized that it was really working for me. I'm not dropping weight fast, but I'm not suffering either. I had to tell myself that I don't need to lose 50 pounds in 2 months. It took me ten years to put this weight on, it's not going to come off overnight. I have a better chance of sticking to my new way of eating if I'm not completely suffering.

Now, I made a HUGE mistake this week. I didn't do what I planned. I didn't make a menu for Scott and I, and I didn't diet shop. I randomly shopped and got healthy food but there was no menu to follow, so it wasn't necessarily a good week. I was getting home late from work and then scrambling to get dinner around. Asking four kids "what do you want to eat for dinner" at 6:00 at night is not a good situation.

So, with a menu, I planned everything out the night before. Tonight, I made my menu for the week. I know it's already Wednesday, but we can follow it the rest of the week and then use it for next week too. It has enough variety.

The other thing I'm doing is that I'm working out. I work out with my 3 pound weights every day. I know I already told you that I skipped Friday and Saturday, but I have more than made up for it this week. I have worked really hard, working out. I have a routine that I do and I started out with 10 reps of each thing. Trust me, 10 just about killed me. Now I am doing 15. There are certain things that I go back and do again. (The back leg lifts that will make my ass look sooooo goood, lol).

I even got Jourdan to work out with me a little bit here and there. She doesn't really need to lose weight but she needs to tone up her stomach. She doesnt' realize that very soon she won't be able to just eat what she wants. She has terrible eating habits and it's my fault. Jason has learned the hard way. He has gone back and forth being overweight, but not since Freshman year when he joined football. Now, he stays in shape thans to Noel Dean.

Ok, I got off track there. I guess I just wanted to say that things are going well. I worked out with weights today and I ran my butt off on the treadmill. I burned 20 more calories today than I did yesterday in the same amount of time. I'm using the incline, but mostly jogging. I have worked myself up to jogging further and longer. John was down there with me tonight and he loved it when I would jog on 5 or 6, then I would tell him when to kick it back down to 3! What a good kid.

You know, come to think of it....today was a really bad food day. I had almost forgotten about it in my rambling. I had a plain bagel for breakfast, a snack at work, and I brought some Progresso soup (100 calories) for lunch and never ate it. I don't know why, it just didn't sound good to me today. By the time I got home at 4:45pm I was so starving it was ridiculous.

This is when I make mistakes. This is the point that Julie told me NOT to get to. Six small meals a day...well didn't happen today. So, I get home and I'm looking in the fridge....nothing good to eat. Lots of fattening stuff in the freezer...pizzas, chicken pot pies, fudge bars, pizza rolls. I'm starving and I have no menu to follow, and I have not been grocery shopping. What is a girl to do?

Sami was hungry too, and cranky. She's been crying alot lately and really crabby. I think she's getting teeth. Anyhow, she wanted a snack too. So, I eat a cheese stick and I'm starving. I'm pacing in the kitchen and I'm looking in the cupboards. Sam get's out a box of pasta and wants me to make that, so I did. And, that's what the kids had.

I took my vitamins and cooked a chimichanga....or something like that. Anyhow, it had 310 calories, so it wasn't too awful. Once I had that and a huge glass of water, I worked out, did laundry and then went to the treadmill.

I was seriously struggling. I don't like that feeling....I can't let myself get that hungry because I was like a wild woman searching my kitchen. It was ugly. But I'm quite proud of myself for working through it and not eating myself to oblivion!

No comments:

Post a Comment