What the hell is wrong with our Democratic congress? They refuse to lift the ban on offshore drilling and here are people paying $4.25 a gallon for gas and $4.79 a gallon for diesel. President Bush has done his part in letting the oil companies explore for oil, now Congress should pull their heads out of their asses! What will make the democrats move? $6.00, $7.00, maybe $8.00 a gallon for gas? They want a complete colapse of the economy so they can blame Bush and the Republicans. When a Republican is in the White House they certainly don't want the economy to be good. They don't want gas prices to go down now....it much hurt Barack Hussein Obama! What a pinhead.
Now, I know that there are a bunch of tree-huggers out there crying about the environment. Do they think Cuba's not doing it? Let's just let the evil dictator tap the oil off the Florida coast....he needs more money and we don't need lower gas prices.
I love how each party plays the blame game. Instead of doing something about the price of gas it's better to bitch about the other party and blame them. They each make some good points, but why not act instead of blame? President Bush has lifted the ban on offshore drilling, so now we need the Democrats in congress to do the same. Quit talking about this 68 million acres the oil companies already have leased.....I've heard that 20 times from Democrats over the last few days. Do they consider that there may not be oil in those places? Here is a shot in the dark, don't they think that the oil companies would be drilling on those 68 million acres if there was actually oil there? Duh!
I have to be honest, I'm not thrilled with John McCain. He's not a full-conservative. He's more toward the middle. I read somewhere that he's around 80% Republican and somewhere around 20% democrat. Check out his voting record and you'll see. However, as voters we need to look at what is best for our families. At least McCain supports offshore drilling. We are spending $330 billion on foreign oil every single year. That's "B" for billion. Money that is going out to terrorists and other nations that do not like the United States. Drilling domestically would bring the price of oil down.
Just look at what happened yesterday when Bush announced he was lifting the ban....oil dropped something like $10 a barrel and the stock market was up 200 points when I looked earlier. It actually closed +276. I get so ticked every quarter when we get Scott's 401K statement and it's losing money. I mean, just take money out of our budget every week and just flush it down the toilet....that's what is happening. So, I was happy to see stocks go up! I don't want him to work for nothing and have no retirement down the road.
Back to what I was saying earlier, voting who's best for your family situation. I've been known to vote Repuplican just because I am Republican. This is really the wrong way to look at things. You need to see what the candidate stands for on important issues facing us today and then vote your conscience. To let everyone know....Obama doesn't support offshore drilling.
"Opponents of the president's plan, including Democratic presidential nominee Senator Barack Obama, deny that opening new areas for drilling can solve the energy crisis. While an estimated 18 million barrels of oil lie in the waters off our nation's coast, production cannot be increased immediately and the economic results could not be realized for more than 20 years, according to the Energy Information Administration. Additionally, as Democratic Party leaders note, oil companies already own leases to more than 60 million acres of federal land but have failed to utilize those resources."
I got this off MTV's website. Does he have his head up his ass? Opening new areas won't help us stop sending so much money overseas for domestic oil? And so what if it takes 5 years to get it out of the ground....it'll still bring the price of oil down. So, let me see if I understand Obama's position on this. "I deny that domestic drilling will lower gas prices and since it'll take a while to get it going....well, we should just ignore it some more". (My words, not Obama's.) He keeps telling us to cut back. We need to reduce our dependancy. Puuuleassse! Hasn't everyone does this already. I guess we should cut out driving to work and to the grocery store because that's about all I do. People are cutting back! It's not lowering the gas price because foreigners own it all! They own the oil and they control it and until we need less of it and we drill for our own...nothing will change.
(Did anyone notice that in the wake of lower crude oil prices the cost of gas actually went up...I think about 15 cents yesterday?)
So, that's my rant about politics today. Take it or leave it.
No comments:
Post a Comment