Monday, November 29, 2010

Black Friday Fun

Thanksgiving weekend has come to an end, and WOW was it a busy four days.  I had the best Thanksgiving Day because we had a great dinner and I actually got to sit at the table with all four of my kids.  It's a rare treat these days.  Jason has been pretty scarce lately, which is typical of an 18 year old.  I miss him like crazy.

So we just had a family Thanksgiving this year and it was GREAT!  And then......shopping!

Jourdan and I stayed up all night long and went to Walmart.  We went with Tina, Dani, and Mom.  By 10:15pm we were at Walmart and stood there waiting until Midnight to get our bargains.  Ok, that part wasn't so great, but we got alot of stuff and I was really happy with all the great things I got for Jason.  I mean, they had towels for $1.33 each.  I'm thinking Jason's going to need about 15 towels to take with him for his dorm.  Anyhow, I put Jourdan in charge of grabbing the towels.  Trust me, people were actually fighting over stuff, so I told her to grab fast and not let anyone steal her towels out of the cart, lol.

When all was said and done, she ended up with 25 towels in the cart.  Not sure how she confused 15 with 25, but it's ok since they were such a good deal.  Anyhow, I got all kinds of good stuff.

Then, we were off to Target.  We had some breatkfast at IHOP.  It's like they didn't realize it was Black Friday because they had only 2 servers for the entire restaurant and there were tons of people in there.  So, breakfast took forever.  I still didn't care.

As we were sitting there eating our breakfast we could see Target across the street and cars were just pouring in.  Their doors opened at 4am and it was only 1:30 am.  After breakfast, we drive over to Target and it's snowing and blowing like crazy.  It was 27 degrees and people had tents set up along the front of Target.  Seriously, people had tents!  There were probably already 100 people in line and still several hours til the store opened.  They had a pretty good deal on TV's and I'm thinking that's what people were after. 

I'm sorry, but a 48" TV for $400 wouldn't be worth staying overnight in tents in front of Target, in the snow!

Once we got inside they didn't have anything on my list that I wanted to buy.  It really pissed me off.  After wandering around the store I finally came across one of the items I'd had on my list.  Someone must have put it in their cart and put it down someplace else deciding they didn't want it.  I would have left right then, but Tina and Mom had stuff.  After waiting in the truck for hours, we weren't going to just leave.  So, for an hour and a half we waited in line.

Needless to say, I won't be going to Target next year.  They put out ads and then had only 2 or 3 of that item.  When you have 2000 people in the store, thats what the security guard guy told us, they should have more than 2 or 3 of something they are offering a good deal on.  Target can kiss my ass!

I was so crabby by this time that I didn't want to shop anymore.  I was pissed off that I didn't really get anything on my list and I had been up all night long.

I got home about 6:30 and of course Scott had been up for hours.  He was ready to go do something.  I told him he was crazy and I was going to sleep.  He wanted to take off and go to Home Depot before the kids woke up.  I didn't want to leave them here with Jourdan, because she had been up all night with me too.

So, Scott let me sleep for about 2 1/2 hours and then dragged me out of my chair to go shopping.  I've never felt tired like I did then.  Once I got up and took a shower I felt better.  I guess I just had to wake up.

Even though our shopping trip wasn't perfect, thanks to Target, Scott and I had a great day out and about shopping.  We had John and Sam with us, and they were really good.  We went to Menards and got some of their sale items.  I discovered last year that they don't just have 2 or 3 of something, they have 2 or 3 skids of whatever they have on sale.  I got everything that was on my list and it was 10am.  4 hours after their sale started.

We went to Home Depot too.  I hate going to Home Depot with Scott.  I always tell him it's like him going into a craft store with me, lol.  Anyhow, he bought a snowblower.  We've gotten like a half inch of snow and he bought this mammoth snow blower.  Seriously, it's HUGE!  I'm laughing because reality hit him that Jason is moving out.  All of the sudden he realized that leaves HIM to shovel the snow.  Last year we got a butt load of snow and that was Jason's job, to make sure the driveways and sidewalk stayed clear.  So, now we have this massive snowblower in the garage.

We did do some more Christmas shopping and then lunch at Branns.  By then, I'd had enough fun for the day.  I'm thinking I'm too damn old to stay up all night for shopping.  I remember when I could stay up all night partying and then go to work for 8 hours.  Basically what my son is up to these days, lol.  Well, even though I love the whole shopping deal, next year I won't be staying up all night to go shopping.

Thanksgiving weekend is over now and Scott and I have to go back to work tomorrow.  The kids have tomorrow off school.  They don't go back until Tuesday!  I feel like I had a successful shopping weekend.  I'm pretty much done shopping for Jason and Jourdan.  Now, on to the younger ones.  Tough to shop for them when they are with me.  I used to be able to get away with it when i took Sami, but she pays way too much attention to what goes into the cart, and then she knows what is in the bags when we get home.  And she wants it.  So, I can't shop with her.

Last year, I did alot of shopping during my lunch hour at work.  Looks like I'll have to do the same this year, which is fine.  Meijer, Kmart, and the mall are all within 5 minutes of my office.  I'm not letting time get away from me this year where I wait until the very last minute and then I'm scrambling to find what I want.  

I'm tired, and I have to get up early for work so I'm off to sleep.  Sami has been sick for a couple days with a crappy cold.  Hopefully she'll feel better tomorrow because I don't want to take her to daycare with a snotty nose.  I'm one of those mom's who keeps her kids home when they are sick.  It really pisses me off when parents send kids to school or to daycare when they are sick, because one of my kids will always get whatever cootie they have.  Then, we all get it.  Before I get all pissy about it, I'll save that topic for another day!  Until next time....

No comments:

Post a Comment