Sorry, it's been about a week since I wrote. I haven't really had any great topics to write about and I'm sick of bitching about this, that, and the other thing.
We had a busy weekend! Jason worked all weekend and Jourdan was gone to her dad's. It's the first time in weeks that she's been over there. Probably been closer to over a month since she's been at her dads, but I think they were going to decorate their Christmas Tree.
So, on Saturday Scott and I went to Indiana to look at a boat. I didn't really want to go, but Scott wanted me to go.....so I went. It was a really nice boat, a 25 ft Sea Ray....I think that was the brand. Doesn't matter. Anyhow, was nicer than the boat we used to have, but not as deep. Our Thompson had really deep sides and I felt so much safer. The sides actually were about waist high on me and in this boat, in the back, the boat was much shallower. Probably thigh deep. It's a deep V bottom boat, but the floor has alot of storage in in, and then you go down two steps into the cabin.
So, I don't know. Scott told me that Thompson's are much deeper boats and most other boats probably won't be that deep. The thing I liked about our boat is that I felt safe with the kids on it because John couldn't even see over the side because it was so tall. And Sam would be the same way right now. The boat we looked at this weekend was clean and bigger and beautiful, but the sides just aren't as high as what I'd like.
I told Scott it's hard for me to compare anything because I've only ever been in our boat for any length of time. So, I would prefer something deeper. We found a couple more Thomspon's but are waiting to get pictures back from the owners. The bad thing is, one is in Cleveland. There is another one down by Toledo, so that's not so bad. But Scott sent me another one today that's for sale and I can't remember where it is, but someplace in Ohio.
It sucks to run all over Ohio to look at boats, especially right now. The weather sucked on the way down. It was foggy and it snowed and we were in the Focus, how stupid are we, lol. Anyhow, we made it back safe.
The kids stayed with my mom and dad. They don't spend much time with my parents so it was really nice that they got to spend the day with them. After the drive down to Indiana, I was so happy we'd decided not to bring the kids. They would have hated all the driving. We were gone from 8:30 -4:00. That's a long day for two kids in the truck. When we went to Ohio a couple weeks ago, they drove us crazy and that was just over four hours. And we had the Excursion so they had the TV to watch movies.
Remember when we were kids and all we had for entertainment was an 8 track tape player. I remember driving up north to Mackinaw Bridge in the Valiant. We listened to the Meatloaf 8 track tape over and over and over. I remember after the fourth or fifth time, my dad said...."ok, that's enough Meatloaf". Lol
Now the kids have Nintendo DS to play with, DVD player in the truck with heated leather seats that recline. They have IPod's and handheld games, even the laptop. How did we survive???? I can't even imagine one of my kids having to drive into Grand Rapids (20 minutes) without watching a movie in the truck. It cracks me up.
Many many years, my parents took us kids up north in our old black and white stiped van. We just sat on blankets in the back because there were only two bucket seats up front. I even remember one year my parents borrowed my grandpa's green pickup truck, put a topper on it, and Tina and I sat in chaise loungechairs in the back. There was no back window to open, so we had a notebook and my mom had a notebook and we wrote notes back and forth on the trip up to the Bridge and back. I'd have to ask Tina, but I think that's the year we hit a skunk! Talk about gross!
It's so funny to think about how things were when I was a kid. A movie I love to watch at Christmas time is Christmas Story. Look at their life and compare it to ours as children and we had it much better. Now look at our childhood and compare it to our kids. I'm wondering how it will be for John and Samantha's kids someday? Kids are so spoiled in todays world as it is, I wonder just how much more spoiled they can be?
Well, not a real exciting topic tonight, but interesting to think about. I'll be posting some pictures of my Christmas decorating around the house. I keep telling you how Christmas crazy I am, so I went around the house and took some random pictures of my decorating. I'll post them here or on my facebook page.
Scott worked today, so it was just John, Sami and I at home. We had Christmas music playing and we put our gingerbread house together and decorated it. Well, I lied.....I actually assembled it a day or two ago. I was telling Beth the best way to get the house put together is to use caulk, and I wasn't kidding. It's stickier than the frosting they give you. Plus, they barely give you enough for decorating. Anyhow we had to let that dry and today we put all the decorations on it. I'll be posting a picture of that too.
We had a great day today. It's very festive around my house right now. My shopping is coming along nicely....I just have to get wrapping. I haven't wrapped a single gift, and when you have four kids....you should be wrapping in October, lol.
Until next time.....sweet dreams!
No comments:
Post a Comment