Sunday, December 11, 2011

To Send....Or Not To Send....Christmas Cards

I was shopping at Costco about a month ago and I was wandering up and down the Christmas aisles. (Big shock there, right?)  Anyhow, I came up to the Christmas card display.  Have you ever seen the Christmas cards at Costco?  They are GORGEOUS!  They aren't the cheapo cards either...they all have glitter and foil writing.  I stood there looking at them and decided that I would mail Christmas cards to our friends and family this year.

I almost always buys cards to mail in December.  Sometimes I fill them out and they never get sent.  A friend of mine said the same thing happens to him.  I did send them last year, and I got a few of them in the mail for our family too.

I love getting Christmas cards.  There is just something so exciting about opening the mailbox and seeing those big envolopes just waiting for you.  The kids argue over who gets to open the cards.  They love cards too, I guess.

After we open the cards we read them and pass them around the table.  The we tape them up in the doorway to our livingroom.  They turn into the best Christmas decorations in our home.  This year our new house is set up a little different, but we'll make it work.  I sent out cards on Friday and I started wondering if many people even send them anymore.

I've gotten e-cards.....but only one lonely card by mail.  And that was from my Chiropractor, lol!  I even went to my Facebook friends and asked them if they sent Christmas cards by mail anymore?  I had quite a few responses and for the most part I discovered that folks are still sending out cards by mail.  I also discovered that people LOVE getting Christmas cards in the mail.  One of my friends even commented on how it's nice to get something other than bills in the mail.  I totally agree!  :)

When I was first thinking about our lack of cards I thought....e-cards, internet, facebook, text messaging....nobody has to send an actual card.  We  stay in close touch with all this modern technology.  I've changed my mind on that opinion.  I think that for most people, it comes down to money. 

I don't think that it's the cost of the cards, they are on sale for 50% off at Hobby Lobby all the time.  I feel like it's probably the cost of postage.  It costs 44 cents for a first class stamp.   The cards I chose were large, so I was worried that one stamp wouldn't cover the postage to mail them.  But, I was ok...except the ones I added photo's to. 

Isn't it strange how the post office just keeps on raising the cost of postage because they are so broke.....but then people don't want to pay almost 50 cents to mail a darn envelope!  So, we pay our bills online, we send email and text messages, and we send ecards.  

With all that said, I'm glad to see on my Facebook survey that people still like to send Christmas cards by mail.  I guess we just aren't doing it every single year....sometimes there are things we need to spend money on more than postage.  This girl still likes to get the cards in the mail too, but I understand if people are cutting back.

Until next time.....Happy Holidays!

No comments:

Post a Comment