Tuesday, December 27, 2011

A New Direction?

I've been thinking alot about the direction of my blog.  I started it a long time ago in an effort to reach out to other people who were dieting and struggling with food and excersize.  I was looking for a way to challenge myself and make myself accountable to YOU!

Well, two years have passed and I weigh about 10 pounds less than I did when I started writing.  I've let 2 years go by without much change...weight wise.  My blog turned into a place I could come to bitch about something, or to share happiness I was feeling at the moment.  It turned into mini therapy sessions.  It always feels good to get stressful things off your chest.

I don't know if you've noticed or not, but I have changed.  I've written many times about being in therapy.  Well, it's working because I feel really good...mentally.  Oh I have my bumps in the road, but I feel so much better these days and I'm learning how to deal with the ups and downs that everyone experiences in life.  Life isn't perfect, but I am thankful for what I have.  A wonderful husband and 4 beautiful children.  We are healthy, have a roof over our heads, and food in the cupboards. 

Back to the beginning of my post.  I've been thinking about what direction I should take here.  I could keep on winging it or I could try to find a way to reach out to someone.  I'm not sure yet, but I know that something good will come to me.  I have a blog attached to this one for posting recipees.  I love that blog, it's full of good yummy stuff.  I was hoping to have some followers, but I haven't given it enough attention.  I'm going to work on that.

For now, I'll give you an update on what's happening in our household.  My husbands employer has a Biggest Loser type of contest that will start on January 3rd.  It will last for....8 or 10 weeks I believe.  Well Scott won it two years ago along with almost $500.  We're just around the corner from this contest starting.   It is a little different than the show, nobody gets eliminated.  The winner will get a nice bundle of cash at the end.....AND they've decided to sign up for a 5K run that takes place in April.

This is where it gets interesting.  Scott and I have been talking strategy for his contest.  I've been wanting to get into better shape.  I've been talking alot about it in therapy....my emotional eating and boredom eating.  I'm doing better at controlling those things.  And if I can work out with Scott and plan meals together, it'll be better for both of us.

I've been a little scared about my health lately.  I'm 42 years old and I need to lose about 35 or 40 pounds.  Seems like a huge number, one that has scared me.  I feel like it's such a big number I don't know if I could succeed.  But about a week ago I started having blurry vision and terrible headaches.  I went to see my doctor and my blood pressure was 145/105.  They had me lay down for a while and took it again...and it was even worse.

So I'm sitting there in the little room knowing that my blood pressure is ridiculous high, I'm on the edge of diabetes, I have high triglycerides, I'm 42 years old and I need to lose weight.  The blood pressure really scared me.  I have young children, and it scared me to think that if I didn't get this under control I could have a stroke or a heart attack. 

I want to live a good long time and see my grandkids and their kids.  To do that, I need to be healthy.  So, that's the boat I'm in.  Scott's contest comes at a perfect time. 

I've been watching Biggest Loser this season and even though I can't stand the guy who won (John) it really got me thinking about excersize and how I wanted to get into shape.  I had also decided that I want to run in a 5K run.  I don't know when or where but I want to do that.  I've got this in the back of my mind and about a week later Scott tells me that a bunch of guys who are doing this contest have talked him into doing this 5K run in Greenville. 

No way!  I've been thinking about a 5K run for a couple weeks.  So, that's what we are going to do.  It's in April so I have almost 4 months to get ready.  I know what you're thinking, a 5K run isn't much.  But to a person who doesn't even want to WALK 5k it's a big deal to think that I might actually be able to jog one.  So, I talked to a friend of mine who lives and breathes excersize and being healthy and she gave me some great advice to get to my goal.  Now, I just have to do the work.

I'm so sick of feeling like hell.  My blood pressure is freaking me out because it's something a person doesn't normally feel.  It's not like you have pain with it....unless it's screaming high and you have blurry vision and  headaches.  Not a good thing.  And I just generally feel crappy this week.  I think it's all tied in.

So, that's my big news.  I'm sure I'll be updating on my progress.  I'm sure it'll be embarassing at first, but if I can make it to my goal and lose 35 pounds by the end of April...then finish the 5K run....I'll be proud.

Until next time.....

No comments:

Post a Comment