Sunday, January 8, 2012

Here We Go Again

The holidays are past us and things are getting back to normal.  I finally got all of my Christmas decorations taken down and put away.  It takes me at least a week to get everything out and put up around the house and then time seems to fly by.  I feel like we only have our decorations out for such a short time considering how much it takes to put it all out and then put it all away.

I'm actually not complaining, I enjoy doing it.  This has been an odd holiday season.  Living in Michigan, we get used to a white Christmas.  We didn't have a white Christmas this year.  I heard on the news that we've had snow for Christmas 9 out of the last 11 years.  I guess we must have lived up north during those few years without snow, because I don't remember a green Christmas in a very long time....more than 11 years.

It's Saturday night and I'm sitting here feeling extremely BORED!  I let the kids stay home from school yesterday and we went out and about shopping.  And I took them for lunch.  We really had a great day.  None of the kids did any fighting and that's pretty good considering we made 3 stops and were gone for about 4 1/2 hours.  We went to Mongolian BBQ for lunch and it totally sucked!  And to make it worse, it was $40 for us to eat.  It's a buffet for crying out loud and one trip to the buffet for 2 adults and 2 little kids was $40!  And the food wasn't that good.  So I won't be going back.  I have better things to do with my money.

Today is my mom's birthday.  We were going to stop and see her and Scott and I ended up having a little "difference of opinion" as he calls it.  I call it a fight.  I hate fighting with him, even though I had good reason to be mad.  It's been a really long time since we had an argument and I could have done without this one.

Our "get healthier" journey is going well.  We're only in our first week and Scott has lost 13 pounds and I've lost 4 1/2.  Seriously, that ticks me off.  (That's not what our fight was about, lol)  I'm not saying that weight loss is "easy" for men.  I think that losing weight and getting in shape is hard for anyone.  That's why we aren't all size 2.  However, I think that men get better results than women do.  Scott say's its from being in the military for 10 years.  He got up this morning and got on the treadmill and jogged for over 500 calories.  I got on the treadmill after him and went for 125 calories.  I can't jog for 30 minutes, I'd have a stroke.

True to my typical nature, I was ticked off tonight and when I'm mad...I want to eat.  But, I had melon so it's not my usual.  I probably would have had some cheese and crackers (like Ritz which are high in calories) or chips or something.  So, I'm not really happy with myself for eating, but at least I didn't eat something that was completely bad for me.  It's a step in the right direction.

For dinner I think I did pretty good.  I buy bags of frozen chicken breast tenders so I always have chicken on hand.  Scott's a beef guy but I try to discourage it when we are dieting, I'm a chicken kind of girl anyways.  So, I sliced the ckicken thin and did a saute with a drizzle of olive oil and some garlic powder.  I also sauteed red, yellow, and orange mini peppers and a little onion along with slices of yellow squash....yummy!  Add some fat free cheddar and we had really awesome fajita's.  I was completely shocked but even my kids liked them.  I didn't make them use reduced calorie cheese tho.  I didn't really even notice a difference.  Plus, I made rice so the kids added that in.  I guess theirs was more like a burrito.

Anyhow, it turned out absolutely delish and we kept our calories to a minimum.....about 400 for the meal.  That's within 30 calories of a diet frozen meal. 

I'm trying to learn how to cook meals with less calories and fat.  During the week we are doing frozen diet meals or a low calories sandwich with baked chips.  I'm still cooking for the kids, so that's interesting....but I'm doing ok.  And Chicky is helping me.  Jason has even been cooking so that helps. 

For dinner last night I bought boneless turkey breat tenderloins.  I sliced it into small strips and then Jason cooked it on the grill.  I covered it with foil and sprayed it with a little non-stick spray.  Add the turkey and a little bit of Harlans seasoning and cook until browned.  I also have a grill basket for veggies so we had the mini peppers, onions, and mushrooms.  Throw a little organic vegetable seasoning from Costco on it and a dash of kosher salt....can't beat it.  The kids went nuts for that too.  Was nice to have a little normal food after eating frozen diet meals and low calorie sandwiches all week.

Maybe I should be writing this part of my recipe page?  Oh well, doesn't matter.  I'm just trying out different ideas and trying to see what works for all of us.  It's not easy to please 6 people, especially when two are dieting.  But I want my kids to eat healthier too.  Jason is loving it because he is very aware of what he eats and he works out every day.  He keeps telling me how happy he is to see healthy food in the house and that I'm feeding them healthy food.  He moves back to his dorm tomorrow....I'll miss him like crazy!

Well I've rambled on long enough.  If you have any ideas or suggestions for our diet or workouts, please share!  After a week I'm already getting super bored on the treadmill.  We rearranged our family room so it faces the TV and I've been watching shows on my DVR, but I'm still getting bored.  I'll be glad when spring gets here and I can walk outside.  I should anyways since it's been in the 40's the last couple days.

Until next time....

No comments:

Post a Comment