Wow! I was on fire last night. Literally! I think there was steam coming out of my ears. I was seriously pissed off. I think I'm done with that.
I've had this naggy headache for the last four or five days and I think it finally got to me. As far as tonight, the more wine I drink the better I feel. Hmmm! Imagine that.
When I woke up this morning I tried to have a new attitude. Seriously. I have been cranky for the last few days and I thought, I'm going to try to find something that is relaxing to me. So, I went down to my craft room and decided to make up some of my lavender rice bags. Problem, remember I was bragging about the fact that I had nearly packed up my entire craft room. Well, I started to unpack it so I could do a little bit of craft relaxation therapy. It worked. In about 30 minutes I got 8 rice bags done. And, my mood improved.
The kids started spring break from school today. They are so excited, and I am too. I hate getting up at 7am. I'm more of an 8ish kind of girl. My problem is that I like to stay up late fooling around on Facebook, or writing on my blog, or reading. I just read two really good Nora Roberts books. I used to stick with Sandra Brown, but then Tina got me onto Nora Roberts. I read two pretty thick books in two days. Now I've got one that actually has two books in it.
I've discovered that I can find alot of great books at Goodwill and they are anywhere from $1 - $2 each. That saves me from the $6 - $25 at the store. Scott and the kids got me the George W. Bush book for Christmas. I like George Bush! I think he made some mistakes during his presidency but in my heart I believe that he woke up every single morning thinking about doing what was best for our Country. As far as his book was concerned, I love politics so I enjoyed it. It wasn't all politics, it had alot of personal stuff in it. I cried at several different times during the book because I didn't know about some of the personal tragedies that he'd had happen during his life. All in all, I'd say he's a very good man.....and I enjoyed his book.
It's so funny to see the differences in my kids when it comes to reading. I LOVE to read. When I was working I didn't have alot of time to read. I would squeeze it in at night, but I've always loved to read. Jason is so-so about reading, but if it's something he likes he goes like gang busters. Scott and Jason have the same favorite book. The Frontiersman by Allen Eckert. It's a true story about Simon Kenton. Scott and Jason have both read it multiple times and love it. The book is huge, it's like 5 inches thick but that doesn't deter them.
Jourdan hates to read. You couldn't pay her to read a book. She takes after her dad in that. I've always tried to tell my kids that books are so amazing. You hold a book in your hands and within those pages could be anything. It can be a love story or a murder mystery. It can be about a historical event or can just be a comedy. You don't know unless you open the cover and begin to read.
Jason loves history, and even thought about becoming a history teacher. So when it comes to that kind of thing, he loves to read. I just keep telling them that you can learn so much from the pages within a book. Maybe Jourdan just hasn't discovered that you can read for enjoyment. I think at her age I was already reading alot. I've always like to read. I think if she did her spelling would be better too. I'm working on it.
Well, after a rough start to my day I seem to have turned things around. Could be all the wine I drank, or the afternoon nap? I was still pretty frosty when Scott got home, but he was so sweet. He was so nice to me and tried to talk me out of my funk. I had taken steaks out of the freezer for dinner but the kids wanted take-out. So, Scott said he'd go but he wanted me to go with him and leave the kids home. We even took the Trans Am out. The sun has been shining a few days, but not nice enough to have it on the road full-time. It was just what I needed. He even offered to let me drive. I didn't but it was a very nice gesture. And by the time we got back I decided that I was leaving the Krabby Patty behind. How could I be so cranky when someone was trying so hard to make me feel better?
Until next time....
No comments:
Post a Comment