When I discovered I would be staying at home full-time I decided that I needed to tackle a project of some sort each day. Some days it might be something simple like cleaning the bathroom from top to bottom, or maybe the kids room. Other days I might plan a bigger project, but I wanted to make sure that I accomplished something around the house each day.
Yesterday, I thought that I would start to pack some of the things I don't use every day. We sold our house and we will be closing on it, along with our new house, in about 5 weeks. We are a family of 6 and you don't just pack up a house in a couple of days. So, I thought I would start in my craft room.
Scott and I bought boxes a couple weeks ago and they've been out in the garage just staring at me, waiting to be taped and filled. I grabbed a couple of boxes and headed down to my craft room. I filled 4 boxes and barely made a dent in what I have. Just packing up this little 15 by 15 area started to overwhelm me.
My answer, go into Scott's hunting room and pack some things in there. Good plan. This room is the only one in our house that isn't completely finished. It's downstairs and the walls are painted but we didn't put a drop ceiling in like the rest of our basement. It's big, the same size as our family room. Scott has all of his hunting stuff and reloading stuff on one end and the treadmill is down on the other end of the room. I have a couple shelves and filing cabinets next to the treadmill that are filled with office supplies and books as well as my paralegal books.
I did actually get this area packed up. I also made a HUGE pile of crap that I don't need to haul to the new house. Our trash guy is going to hate us over the next couple of weeks because our dumpster is full with several bags sitting on the side. Sorry dude!
So my big adventure was packing up 6 boxes and I'm wondering how I'm ever going to get this house packed up? I have so much stuff it's ridiculous. Big families have lots of shit right. Well, the amount of stuff we have is beyond "lots".
The task of packing just feels overwhelming to me right now. I'll pick away at it and then we'll get closer and closer and I'll really be freaking out. I'm trying to sort through stuff and take what I don't need to
Goodwill. I've already got a big load to take. I was hoping to go tomorrow, but Scott thinks he'll need my truck again. It is spring, after all, so Michigan is under a winter storm warning and we got ice last night. Scott works 25 miles north of here, and it was even worse so he needs the 4-wheel drive.
And, even though our new house is much bigger and has more storage and closet space, I don't want to move all this crap. I've been sorting through the kids clothes to take the things that don't fit them anymore. Why move it when it won't be worn again right?
Working for Two Men And A Truck for a few years, I've learned a few shortcuts for packing and moving. Hopefully it won't be as bad as I think it is. :)
I was thinking about when we sold our house up in Chippewa Lake and moved to Ohio. We moved from Chippewa Lake to Ottawa, Ohio then back to my parents house in Michigan for 3 weeks, then to a house we rented until we bought the house we live in now. In 14 months we moved 4 times. WTF, I don't know how I still have so much stuff. You'd think I would be tired of hauling boxes from place to place.
All I can say is that Scott will be hard pressed to get me to move again once we are settled in this new house. We knew when we bought this house we wouldn't stay in it long term. It's in town and living in town sucks when you're used to living in the country. Plus, Scott and Jason like to hunt and target practice. And we have a big dog that has bitten our neighbors dog.....not cool. We just weren't meant to live in the city. I like it here, but I'll like the bigger house and having woods around me instead of neighbors.
I just have to get past the packing and unpacking business. If I had a butt load of money, I'd pay movers to come in and pack us up and move us. People do it all the time. But, it's expensive. Plus, I don't want the guys I used to work with sorting through all our stuff, lol. How embarassing. I'm too cheap anyways.
Wish me luck, I'm going to need it.
No comments:
Post a Comment