Wow, there is so much going on in this world politically! Seriously. Where should I start?
Let's talk about Sotomayor. Does anyone believe one thing that is coming out of her mouth during these confirmation hearings? She is telling the Republican's whatever they want to hear. She is telling them that what she has been preaching for the last 15 years isn't really how she feels. Bullshit!
She has said over and over that a Latina woman could make a better decision that a white man. If a white man sitting in the New York Supreme court ever said that....he'd be in some big trouble. There would be riots in the streets if a white male judge ever said that he could make a better decision than a Latina woman judge.
I couldn't even stand listening to her speak and the hearings. She looks fidgety and what's with all the eye blinking? You can't tell me that she is being fully honest when she is behaving in this manner. She's a liberal. Don't think for one minute if she was anything but a liberal that Obama would have chosen her. Since he's been in office, he has really proven his left-wing craziness. Now, he's going to have one more in his corner when Sotomayor is confirmed.
There are so many things to say. How about Cap and Trade. Fox News calls it Cap and Tax. Don't people realize that this will effect our electric and gas bills? Not just the rich people, ok. It is going to affect every single household that pays an electric bill. About $1200 a year. That breaks down to $100 a month. Can YOU afford another $100 a month to pay for electricity?
Cap and Trade also screws over homeowners. Before you can sell, you will need to put your house through a rigorous inspection. If your windows, roof, doors, etc don't meet the high efficiency standards, you need to make repairs before the home can be sold. Who the hell can afford that?
With the housing market the way it is today, we couldn't even sell the house without taking money to close. And if we have to make all kinds of energy efficient upgrades to the house first, we wouldn't be able to sell.
I was bitching about this a week or so ago on Facebook and my old classmate John told me that there are programs for low income folks to pay for these upgrades. I could just get the money from that. Are you fucking kidding me? I have experience with this. I had a friend named Tracy when we lived up in Chippewa Lake. She discovered that she needed a new water heater and she needed her drainfield replaced.
So, she applied for a low-income grant that helps people get their house fixed up. Same thing John is talking about. Well, she barely qualified even though she has three kids and only works part-time. They aren't just handing the money out to everyone. You have to qualify income wise for these programs.
So, she got her new water heater and she got her drainfield installed. In return, the State put a lien on her home in the amount of the water heater and the entire drainfield. So, there you go. John made it sound so easy to just get money from the government to help update your house. It's not so easy. You have to make next to nothing, money wise. Then they put a lien on your house. Know what that means? If you refinance or sell your house, that lien needs to be paid first before your title is clear!
Is anyone opening their eyes yet? The extra $1200 a year in electric bills don't discriminate. They will be expensive whether you make $10000 a year or $100,000 a year. It's EVERY household!
Now, I'm on a roll. Let's talk about health insurance. First of all, Obama is going to bankrupt this country with this. On the outside, it looks great. Trust me, I don't want to see people without health care. I want people to be able to go to the doctor. Republican's do care. But look at the facts of this health care program.
First, the bill that the Democrats have put together has made Congress exempt from this health care coverage. Do you know what that means? It means that they get to keep their to of the line health care and they don't have to be stuck with this public option that they are trying to shove down the throats of the American people. A survey was taken of which Congressmen would give up their plush health care plans for the public one they are offering and NONE of the Democrats said they would take it. Over 40 Repbulicans said they would if the bill was passed.
What does this tell us? Even the Democrats don't want to be stuck with what they are proposing.
Here's the deal. If a person is low income, they are going to qualify for Medicaid. There are aparently alot of people out there who would qualify for Medicaid but haven't applied. I say that anyone who is struggling, out of work, working a low wage job, has kids, etc should apply to see if they qualify.
Let's talk about those of us who have insurance. Scott has insurance through work. It's Blue Cross and we pay a portion of it every month. The money that we pay for insurance is pre-tax. This is for everyone and basically it ends up being a tax credit. The Democrats want to take that away. So, the $1200 or so dollars we pay each year in health care coverage is now going to be taxed? That's just shitty!
This really hits home for me. Does anyone believe that an employer is going to offer up private health insurance to their employees when the government will give them insurance? Do you know how much the fine is for companies who drop insurance on employees with this plan? If this plan goes into effect and an employer decides to dump their health insurance, the government is going to fine the business $750 per employee. Whoopty doo!
Our health isurance plan costs Graphite Eng almost $600 a month for our family. What do you think they are going to do? Then, we'll be stuck with the government health insurance program. Private insurance companies are going to be out of business and we'll lose even more jobs. I mentioned that this hits home for me, big time. When I had Samantha in October, 2007 the bill came to over $20,000! How much of it did I pay? A big fat 0! I paid nothing, our insurance covered every dime.
We have a great insurance policy and I don't want to lose it. For those of you who do have Medicaid insurance right now, have you tried to find a dentist? You can't find a dentist who takes Medicaid because the government doesn't want to pay for anything. Our dentist told me that the Medicaid program was so difficult to work with, paperwork wise, that they stopped accepting it. This is what will happen with our medical care as well.
After all of this, I could still bitch about the stimulus package that we had to have. Do you remember Obama on TV telling American's that if we didn't hurry up and pass this great Stimulus package our unemployment would go up....that it could even reach 8%. Well, in June it hit 9.5%! This stimulus package isn't working.
I found a great video that dates Obama's speaches. I'll post it here on my blog. Take a minute and watch it, you'll be surprised.
Look, I tried to give Obama the benefit of the doubt in the beginning. I'm freaked out that things are going to get worse. Scott was working 16 hours of overtime every single week and that went down to nothing. We lost $1600 out of our budget in the blink of an eye. Trust me, I don't want the economy to get worse. But when I sit here and look at all of these stupid decisions that Obama is making for our country, it worries me! Matter of fact, it scares the hell out of me.
The whole Democrat/Republican thing aside, look at his policies and tell me that things are better than they were in January! The unemployment rate in Michigan for June is 15.2%! Let me say that again, in it's own line so I know that you don't miss it:
Michigan unemployment rate is 15%!
That is up 7.1% from one year ago June. From January 2009 to May 2009 Michigan lost 71,000 jobs. Five months in office and we've lost almost one hundred thousand jobs! We're turning into a socialist country. Labor unions now own car companies. The government has a controlling interest in banks and wants to tell corporations how much money they can pay their top tier people. Taxes are on the rise. I could talk about taxes, but maybe I'll save that for tomorrow.
I'm going to add a blog link to my page. A great photographer, Scott Story, has a fantastic blog and I look at each day. Check it out if you have a few minutes.
No comments:
Post a Comment