Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Where To Cut Back?

Here it is, almost 1:00 in the morning and I'm sitting up reading articles about Obama's health care bill. Seriously, it's so bad for our country. How can any person look at what he is proposing and tell me that it will be good for our country?

Increased taxes, less choices, job losses! Then, lets add on Cap and Trade. Another tax increase that will affect every single household in the United States. President Obama is trying to turn us into California.

I have to laugh because I was watching a political panel discussion on health care, I've watched so many lately that I can't remember which. But they were saying that even the French were making points in telling us that Obama is a little too left for them. Socialist european countries think that our President Obama is socialist. Hmmmm! Isn't that an interesting nugget?

Scott and I have been discussing the upcoming elections quite a bit. (My Scott, not you Scott...lol). We are almost getting the feeling of a big shift in our government in the 2010 elections. Sure, Obama is popular right now....on a personal level. His programs, not so much. You put another year under his belt and there is going to be some disgruntled people. If this health care thing passes on top of Cap and Trade, the Independent voters that got Obama elected aren't going to feel so generous to all the Democrats who are running for election next year. Just my gut feeling. You know what they say about woman's intuition.

I feel so bad for my boss right now. You all know that I work for Two Men And A Truck as their bookkeeper. The owner of our location is the best guy. He treats his employees and customers with respect and is a generous person. He is so beside himself right now with all the proposed changes Obama wants to force on us. As a small business, we will be financially devastated if and when some of these taxes and so-called reforms are put into place. The first thing that will happen, and this is what our banker told us to do today, lay off employees!

I'll say that again, LAY OFF EMPLOYEES!!!

A while back we got a lead on a move of a large factory in Grand Rapids. The name of the business escapes me at the moment, but they made pin ball machines. Well, we were in negotiations for months with this company to store some of their museum products in our warehouse storage, and do all the moving to a new local location. We were looking at a move near $100,000.

Luckily, the state of Michigan does not care about business loss. Without some sort of tax breaks and SBA help to purchase a new location, the company has decided to move to Mexico. I think that we'll see a pattern of this happening if all of these Obama changes going into effect. We'll see businesses packing up and heading for Mexico where they don't have all of these tax issues! You mark my words, because that is what will happen.

Saturday, July 18, 2009

What Is Happening To Our Stimulus Money?

Squandering the Stimulus Part 7000

Posted by: Carol Platt Liebau at 3:40 PM
Remember Democrats' outrage about the no-bid contracts in Iraq and post-Katrina on the Gulf Coast? From Nancy Pelosi on down, they promised "reform" of the process. And that's even when there were some defensible reasons for no-bid contracts -- especially given the unique conditions in Iraq and the urgency of getting repairs completed for those who had been devastated in New Orleans and elsewhere in Katrina's path.In light of all this, surely the same Democrats will be equally outraged to learn that millions of taxpayer dollars of the stimulus package are being wasted on no-bid contracts for repairs on military bases.

Apparently, as the linked AP reveals, "[b]idding and its delays can be avoided by federal rules that permit contract awards to small and disadvantaged businesses without competition."It would be interesting to know who the "small and disadvantaged businesses" receiving the contracts are, wouldn't it? Is the stimulus money simply being funneled to friends of politicians and/or the "right" groups of "disadvantaged" people?


Well, this certainly gives us something to think about. It doesn't matter what side of the aisle they are on, the nitpicking continues. What's good for them isn't necessarily good for me. Do as I say, not as I do. The bloody world of politics.

Friday, July 17, 2009

Obama v. Obama Stimulus Package

Please, you gotta read this!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s2MjQ17kDng
http://www.popmodal.com/video/2963/Ann-Coulter-on-Geraldo-Biden-is-Delusional

Where Are We Going?

Wow, there is so much going on in this world politically! Seriously. Where should I start?

Let's talk about Sotomayor. Does anyone believe one thing that is coming out of her mouth during these confirmation hearings? She is telling the Republican's whatever they want to hear. She is telling them that what she has been preaching for the last 15 years isn't really how she feels. Bullshit!

She has said over and over that a Latina woman could make a better decision that a white man. If a white man sitting in the New York Supreme court ever said that....he'd be in some big trouble. There would be riots in the streets if a white male judge ever said that he could make a better decision than a Latina woman judge.

I couldn't even stand listening to her speak and the hearings. She looks fidgety and what's with all the eye blinking? You can't tell me that she is being fully honest when she is behaving in this manner. She's a liberal. Don't think for one minute if she was anything but a liberal that Obama would have chosen her. Since he's been in office, he has really proven his left-wing craziness. Now, he's going to have one more in his corner when Sotomayor is confirmed.

There are so many things to say. How about Cap and Trade. Fox News calls it Cap and Tax. Don't people realize that this will effect our electric and gas bills? Not just the rich people, ok. It is going to affect every single household that pays an electric bill. About $1200 a year. That breaks down to $100 a month. Can YOU afford another $100 a month to pay for electricity?

Cap and Trade also screws over homeowners. Before you can sell, you will need to put your house through a rigorous inspection. If your windows, roof, doors, etc don't meet the high efficiency standards, you need to make repairs before the home can be sold. Who the hell can afford that?

With the housing market the way it is today, we couldn't even sell the house without taking money to close. And if we have to make all kinds of energy efficient upgrades to the house first, we wouldn't be able to sell.

I was bitching about this a week or so ago on Facebook and my old classmate John told me that there are programs for low income folks to pay for these upgrades. I could just get the money from that. Are you fucking kidding me? I have experience with this. I had a friend named Tracy when we lived up in Chippewa Lake. She discovered that she needed a new water heater and she needed her drainfield replaced.

So, she applied for a low-income grant that helps people get their house fixed up. Same thing John is talking about. Well, she barely qualified even though she has three kids and only works part-time. They aren't just handing the money out to everyone. You have to qualify income wise for these programs.

So, she got her new water heater and she got her drainfield installed. In return, the State put a lien on her home in the amount of the water heater and the entire drainfield. So, there you go. John made it sound so easy to just get money from the government to help update your house. It's not so easy. You have to make next to nothing, money wise. Then they put a lien on your house. Know what that means? If you refinance or sell your house, that lien needs to be paid first before your title is clear!

Is anyone opening their eyes yet? The extra $1200 a year in electric bills don't discriminate. They will be expensive whether you make $10000 a year or $100,000 a year. It's EVERY household!

Now, I'm on a roll. Let's talk about health insurance. First of all, Obama is going to bankrupt this country with this. On the outside, it looks great. Trust me, I don't want to see people without health care. I want people to be able to go to the doctor. Republican's do care. But look at the facts of this health care program.

First, the bill that the Democrats have put together has made Congress exempt from this health care coverage. Do you know what that means? It means that they get to keep their to of the line health care and they don't have to be stuck with this public option that they are trying to shove down the throats of the American people. A survey was taken of which Congressmen would give up their plush health care plans for the public one they are offering and NONE of the Democrats said they would take it. Over 40 Repbulicans said they would if the bill was passed.

What does this tell us? Even the Democrats don't want to be stuck with what they are proposing.

Here's the deal. If a person is low income, they are going to qualify for Medicaid. There are aparently alot of people out there who would qualify for Medicaid but haven't applied. I say that anyone who is struggling, out of work, working a low wage job, has kids, etc should apply to see if they qualify.

Let's talk about those of us who have insurance. Scott has insurance through work. It's Blue Cross and we pay a portion of it every month. The money that we pay for insurance is pre-tax. This is for everyone and basically it ends up being a tax credit. The Democrats want to take that away. So, the $1200 or so dollars we pay each year in health care coverage is now going to be taxed? That's just shitty!

This really hits home for me. Does anyone believe that an employer is going to offer up private health insurance to their employees when the government will give them insurance? Do you know how much the fine is for companies who drop insurance on employees with this plan? If this plan goes into effect and an employer decides to dump their health insurance, the government is going to fine the business $750 per employee. Whoopty doo!

Our health isurance plan costs Graphite Eng almost $600 a month for our family. What do you think they are going to do? Then, we'll be stuck with the government health insurance program. Private insurance companies are going to be out of business and we'll lose even more jobs. I mentioned that this hits home for me, big time. When I had Samantha in October, 2007 the bill came to over $20,000! How much of it did I pay? A big fat 0! I paid nothing, our insurance covered every dime.

We have a great insurance policy and I don't want to lose it. For those of you who do have Medicaid insurance right now, have you tried to find a dentist? You can't find a dentist who takes Medicaid because the government doesn't want to pay for anything. Our dentist told me that the Medicaid program was so difficult to work with, paperwork wise, that they stopped accepting it. This is what will happen with our medical care as well.

After all of this, I could still bitch about the stimulus package that we had to have. Do you remember Obama on TV telling American's that if we didn't hurry up and pass this great Stimulus package our unemployment would go up....that it could even reach 8%. Well, in June it hit 9.5%! This stimulus package isn't working.

I found a great video that dates Obama's speaches. I'll post it here on my blog. Take a minute and watch it, you'll be surprised.

Look, I tried to give Obama the benefit of the doubt in the beginning. I'm freaked out that things are going to get worse. Scott was working 16 hours of overtime every single week and that went down to nothing. We lost $1600 out of our budget in the blink of an eye. Trust me, I don't want the economy to get worse. But when I sit here and look at all of these stupid decisions that Obama is making for our country, it worries me! Matter of fact, it scares the hell out of me.

The whole Democrat/Republican thing aside, look at his policies and tell me that things are better than they were in January! The unemployment rate in Michigan for June is 15.2%! Let me say that again, in it's own line so I know that you don't miss it:

Michigan unemployment rate is 15%!

That is up 7.1% from one year ago June. From January 2009 to May 2009 Michigan lost 71,000 jobs. Five months in office and we've lost almost one hundred thousand jobs! We're turning into a socialist country. Labor unions now own car companies. The government has a controlling interest in banks and wants to tell corporations how much money they can pay their top tier people. Taxes are on the rise. I could talk about taxes, but maybe I'll save that for tomorrow.

I'm going to add a blog link to my page. A great photographer, Scott Story, has a fantastic blog and I look at each day. Check it out if you have a few minutes.

Sunday, July 12, 2009

Jourdan's Home

Jourdan is home from camp! YAY! I really missed her. She left last week on Sunday and came home tonight. I only talked to her once on the phone the entire week, and it was a really long week.

She had a great time! I'm so glad because she was worried that she was going to get homesick. Luckily, she told me that the week flew by. I'm glad that she had so much fun. I'm also glad that she is home because it was just weird around here without her being home.

I can't even believe that it's already the middle of July. This summer is passing by way too fast. It's making me a little freaked out because once school starts again, Jason will be a senior. I don't even want to think about him being a senior. Last years school year went by so damn fast and I know the same will happen this year. And then, graduation. Followed by him moving way up north....5 hours away....to go to school.

Ok, I can't think about this right now...it gets me upset. I'm having anxiety over something that is completely natural and is going to happen regardless of how much I don't want it to happen. Did that even make sense?

I'll just move on to politics, that'll make me feel better.

I'm Mad As Hell!

I'm Mad as Hell!
by Burt Prelutsky

Frankly, I’m beginning to feel a lot like Howard Beale, the character portrayed by Peter Finch in the 1976 release, “Network.” He insisted that people get up right now and go to the window, open it, stick their heads out and yell, “I’m as mad as hell, and I’m not going to take it anymore!”
I’ve always heard that misery loves company. If true, misery in America has more company these days than it knows what do with.

I realize that conservatives have felt this way ever since the Democrats nominated the Chicago crony of Bill Ayers, Jeremiah Wright, Tony Rezko, Rod Blagojevich and the assorted felons at ACORN, to be our president, but why aren’t millions of honest, decent, hard-working Democrats up in arms? I can guarantee that if a Republican president had done half the things that Obama has pulled off in his first half year, most of us on the right would be calling for his head. At the very least, none of us would be kissing his heinie.

Even before grabbing up car companies and banks, he got the ball rolling with a trillion dollar, 1100-page pork-filled stimulus package that had to be passed, he insisted, within a few short hours or America was going to be turned into a pumpkin. Well, without anyone having had time to read anything but the price tag, it was passed into law. Obama then took his own sweet time signing it. In the months since its passage, the unemployment rate has soared, entire states are going belly up and, apparently, nobody seems to know what happened to the money.

Then there’s the Waxman-Markey cap and trade bill, which started out in life at a thousand pages, and then had a 300-page amendment tacked on to it in the dead of night. It was as if Dr. Frankenstein, after carefully inspecting his nightmarish creation, decided that what the monster really needed was a second head and a hunchback. Again, nobody had time to read the bill, but that didn’t prevent 219 congressmen, including eight Republicans who scurried out from under a rock just long enough to make certain that Christmas, or perhaps I mean Ramadan, would come early for the President.

As I recall, when he was a candidate, Obama assured us that taxes would be decreased for 95% of all Americans. Inasmuch as the Heritage Foundation estimates that the cap and trade bill will wind up costing the average middle class taxpayer nearly $3,000 in additional energy costs, I guess a tax isn’t a tax if you don’t call it one. Of course Obama and Al Gore and their liberal lackeys don’t mention the jobs that people in the oil and coal industries will lose while we’re busily building windmills. Perhaps those folks who were formerly occupied supplying the wherewithal so that America could continue to be a major industrial nation can be hired to stand around and generate energy by blowing at the windmills.

Maybe what Obama meant when he claimed we’d be paying less in taxes was that we’d all be on the dole before the next election rolled around.

During the campaign, when Obama vowed, if elected, he would create or save four million jobs, I speculated that he meant that if at some point there were four million Americans who were still working, he could say he’d kept his campaign promise. I swear I meant it as a joke.

Inasmuch as Obama seems to be doing all he can to turn America into a left-wing third world nation, it stands to reason that he was far more perturbed by a military coup in Honduras than by innocent blood being spilled in the streets after a rigged election in Iran.

It’s amazing, if you stop and think about it, that George H.W. Bush lost his bid for re-election because he was goofy enough to say, “Read my lips…no new taxes,” but Obama does his level best to bankrupt America and destroy the middle class, and yet continues to ride nearly as high in the popularity polls as Michael Jackson. Imagine if the man could moon walk.

But, I guess a lot of us who find ourselves going down the financial drain don’t really mind so long as we can watch Prince Obama and his princess holding hands on their $250,000 date night in New York City.

It’s almost enough to make a person pity Bernard Madoff. That poor shmuck got a 150-year prison sentence, and he only screwed Americans out of about 65 billion dollars.

http://townhall.com/columnists/BurtPrelutsky/2009/07/10/im_mad_as_hell!