Saturday, January 31, 2009

Please Read This About Your Property Taxes in Michigan

In anticipation of our property taxes going up again, I contacted our State Rep and asked him what the Michigan Congress is doing to help protect homeowners. Here is my problem....as you all know, we live in the city of Lowell. The city of Lowell has one of the highest milage rates in Michigan. So, with that in mind, I started wondering why our property taxes are going up when house values have dropped 18% in the past 12 months.

So, if you own a house....are you thinking the same thing? I wrote a letter to Dave Hildenbrand, he's our State Rep for this area and asked him why cities and townships are allowed to raise our taxable value on our homes when the market value is dropping like a rock. He explained that there was a bill called the Homeowner Protection Act and that it passed a Repbulican lead House and when it got to the Democrat lead Senate, they dropped the ball.

So, I wrote back to Rep. Dave Hildenbrand and below is the letter I got back from him:

Dear Ms. Watkins,

Thank you for taking the time to contact me with your request for an update on the Homeowner's Bill of Rights. I appreciate your attention to this issue.

Please know that House Joint Resolution III (HJR III) was introduced to address the issue of rising property taxes. This resolution is a constitutional amendment that prohibits property taxes from rising when property values decline. HJR III passed the House of Representatives on September 25, 2008 , with my full support. I will push my Senate colleagues to take up this resolution to give property tax relief to our residents.

As for other legislators to contact, you may wish to contact your state Senator, Bill Hardiman, as he represents you in the State Senate. I have listed his contact information below.

The Honorable Bill Hardiman
PO Box 30036
Lansing , MI 48909-7536
Phone (866) 305-2129
www.senate.mi.gov/hardiman

Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts with me. It is a privilege to serve you in the Michigan House of Representatives. Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future if I can be of any further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dave Hildenbrand
State Representative
Republican Floor Leader


So, I went ahead and wrote a letter to Senator Hardiman. This is the letter he sent back to me:

Dear Tracy:

Thank you for your correspondence regarding your concerns with rising property taxes. I appreciated hearing from you on this important issue.

As you may be aware, during this past legislative session, the House of Representatives unanimously passed House Joint Resolution III, which would prohibit a property value from increasing when the market value of a home is decreasing. However, House Democrats clerically held up moving the legislation to the Senate before lame duck session had ended. This effectively killed the proposal.

I understand that the sponsor of this legislation plans to re-introduce the measure during the 95th Legislature. I will be sure to keep your concerns in mind should this come before me in the full Senate. You can find the most up-to-date information regarding pending legislation online at:
http://legislature.mi.gov.

Again, thank you for contacting me. I value your input and understand your concerns. If there are any other matters pertaining to state government in which I may be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact my office.

Sincerely,



Bill Hardiman
State Senator
29th District


Why am I telling all of you this? Well, it is my hope that you will send an email to both of them! Especially Senator Bill Hardiman. One person writing might get his attention, but if several people write and they know we are disgruntled about our property taxes, they will listen.

Now, this Bill was reintroduced last week as House Joint Resolution III, or the Homeowner Protection Act. It would stop the cities and townships from being able to raise your property taxes when home values decline.

Way back when....Proposal A was introduced and everyone was in love with it. It limited the amount of property taxes that the cities and townships could collect from a homeowner. The intent of the bill was good but cities and townships found the loophole that stated they could raise the taxes a maximum of 5% or the rate of inflation, whichever was smaller. The "COULD"! They applied it to property taxes as the "CAN". Just because they legally can doesn't mean they should.

When so many people are struggling to pay their bills and keep their homes, why do our local governments feel that it is right to increase our property tax when the value of our home is going down more and more each year. The property taxes are supposed to be based on what a homes true value is. If property value is dropping, and we know it is here in Michigan, why do they feel they should increase our property taxes?

I got online and read the 2008 budget for the City of Lowell. Most of the money went to salaries for city workers. The City Manager especially, he gets a shit load of money and has an expense account. If you are struggling to pay your bills and your property taxes....how good do you feel about giving the city workers money in an expense account? Everyone is cutting back, why aren't our local governments doing the same.

I know that some of you don't live in Lowell, and that's ok. Senator Hardiman is the Senator for this entire area....so you're good to get ahold of him. To find your State Representative go to:

http://house.michigan.gov/find_a_rep.asp

Write your Rep a letter and tell them to support the Homeowner Protection Act for property taxes and then get ahold of Senartor Hardiman to do the same. His information is listed above in Dave Hildenbrands letter. PLEASE get your two cents in so our government here in Michigan stops taking advantage of homeowners.

Friday, January 30, 2009

Signs

An email that Alice sent me:

Sign over a Gynecologist's Office:
'Dr. Jones, at your cervix.'
**************************
In a Podiatrist's office:
'Time wounds all heels.'
**************************
On a Septic Tank Truck:
Yesterday's Meals on Wheels
**************************
On a Plumber's truck:
'We repair what your husband fixed.'
**************************
On another Plumber's truck:
'Don't sleep with a drip. Call your plumber.'
**************************
On a Church's Bill board:
'7 days without God makes one weak.'
**************************
At a Tire Store
'Invite us to your next blowout.'
**************************
On an Electrician's truck:
'Let us remove your shorts.'
**************************
In a Non-smoking Area:
'If we see smoke, we will assume you are on fire and take appropriate action.'
**************************
On a Maternity Room door:
'Push. Push. Push.'
**************************
At an Optometrist's Office:
'If you don't see what you're looking for, you've come to the right place.'
**************************
On a Taxidermist's window:
'We really know our stuff.'
**************************
On a Fence:
'Salesmen welcome! Dog food is expensive!'
**************************
At a Car Dealership:
'The best way to get back on your feet - miss a car payment.'
**************************
Outside a Car Exhaust Store:
'No appointment necessary. We hear you coming.'
**************************
In a Vets waiting room:
'Be back in 5 minutes. Sit! Stay!'
**************************
In a Restaurant window:
'Don't stand there and be hungry; come on in and get fed up.'
**************************
In the front yard of a Funeral Home:
'Drive carefully. We'll wait.'
**************************
And don't forget the sign at a
RADIATOR SHOP :
'Best place in town to take a leak.'
**********************
Sign on the back of yet another
Septic Tank Truck:
'Caution - This Truck is full of Political Promises'

Quote of The Day

"You wouldn't worry so much about what people thought of you if you knew how seldom they did."

Dr. Phil

I just heard this comment made by Dr. Phil. Now, don't get the wrong impression here, we aren't talking about our good friends. This speaks to people about the ones in your life who don't really matter. My whole life has been spent worrying about how people think of me. I want everyone to like me and when someone doesn't, I'm devastated. Well, that's just silly. Ok, I still worry, sometimes. I'll be kissing someones ass if I know they don't like me. Hearing Dr. Phil just say that reminded me that the people who don't really matter shouldn't make such an impact on my life. We need to focus on the people we love, and forget about what the rest of them think of us.

Wednesday, January 28, 2009

Ni-Nights

I almost forgot, Sami slept all night last night. WAAAAAA WHOOOOOOO

Is It Monday?

I am a dumbass. I just spent 30 mintues typing a post....and realized that I typed it in my recipee blog! Wow, I've had another Monday today.

Monday, January 26, 2009

Getting To Know Each Other

I'm trying something new. Each week I'm going to post a list of questions....who knows, I might get ambitious and do this more than just once a week....and I'm going to post my answers. Here is where things get fun. I want my friends (that means YOU) to copy and past the list of questions in my post, then click on "comment" where you will copy the questions and put your answers in. Get what I'm saying? I know, my mom is going to email me and tell me she doesn't understand. It's ok mom, you'll get the hang of it.

So, maybe we'll do some themes. We'll save that for weeks to come. Let's do a basic "get to know you" kind of game, ok?

Here's the part you need to copy then paste into a comment of your own:

1. My name is: Tracy
2. I have this many kids: 4
3. I am: married to Scott
4. I live in: Lowell
5. School I graduated from and year: Lowell in 1987 (Holy crap did I just admit that?)
6. Work or stay at home: I work for TMAT
7. My favorite color: red
8. My favorite day of the week: Thursday (It's when I have the most energy)
9. Football or Baseball: Football, duh!
10. Favorite sports team: Ohio State Buckeyes
11. Coke or Pepsi: Coke, of course
12. Early bird or Night owl: Night owl
13. Favorite season: I used to think fall, but now I'm leaning toward spring
14. Last vacation: St. Ignace with Scott and the kids
15. The last person you said "I love you to": Scott

Ok, I know it's not much, but it'll get us started. Copy the list and get rid of my answers, put your own into a comment. Hey, it's either this or listen to me bitch some more about Obama, lol.

This Is Our President?

There were many promises during his campaign to work across the aisle.

There were promises that he would be the voice of change.

There were promises of finding that "middle ground" that would bring the people of the United States together again.

WHAT HAPPENED? In his first couple of days in office, President Obama has really gone in a direction that doesn't look like the things I listed above. I know that some of you voted for Obama....come on....you know you did. You ignore all of my ranting and raving and voted for Obama. I think that people wanted to believe Obama when he said these things during his campaign. I'm a lifelong Republican, but even I admit that President Bush really screwed up our country. I think his heart was in the right place, but he made some really bad choices.

With that said, I've been looking at the White House website. If you want to check it out yourself go to: www.whitehouse.gov and then click on "agenda". See what his vision is for the United States. Something that is shameful, he repealed the Mexico City policy. What is the Mexico City policy you ask? Well, it banned foreign countries from receiving our, yes I said OUR, tax money to provide abortions. So now you, me, and everyone who pays taxes is paying for women in foreign countries to get abortions. Absolutely disgusting.

This is on the White House website:

Child Advocacy
President Obama and Vice President Biden are committed advocates for children. They will make sure that every child has health insurance, expand educational opportunities for low-income children, extend resources for low-income families, support and supplement our struggling foster care system, and protect children from violence and neglect.

President Obama promises that one of his first acts as President is to sign the Freedom of Choice Act into law. What this does is eliminate every obstacle a woman has for getting an abortion. Late term abortion and much worse. I was watching Fox News and they were saying that a girl of 13 cannot take an aspirin in school without a parents permission. Under the Freedom of Choice Act she can go and get an abortion without a parent even knowing. Can you even imagine? This is a serious medical procedure and Obama doesn't want a girl under the age of 18 to be requried to notify her parents? WTF! What if this was your daughter? Would you want to know? What if she had complications from the surgery....well aside from killing your grand child...and couldn't ever have children again? Or what if she had complications and died and you were completely unaware of what she was up to?

We all like to think that we have a better relationship with our child than that, but it happens. Children panic and the key word here....children...they don't have the maturity skills to make these decisions on their own.

There are so many things to talk about here. I could go on for hours. It scares the hell out of me and we still have four years to go. Trust me, I don't think that McCain would have had an easier job to tackle, but when you have a president come in and just go straight to the far left, it's scary as ever. He's closing GITMO within a year. Where do all these terrorists go? Do they get shipped to the United States and put into our prisons? Do you know that once they are here they get all the legal rights afforded to Americans? Do they let them go to go back to Iraq or Afghanistan to plan some dirty bomb attack on one of our cities? It scares me. I don't want Obama to waive the white flag and that seems to be happening.

Saturday, January 24, 2009

Days Update

To my fellow Days of Our Lives fans.....are they kidding us? It's so funny because I got really pissed off when they gave Lucas shared custody of Allie. So, I deleted the timer off my DVR for weeks. Well, I got over it and I started recording it again.

Does anyone else agree that the writers changed EJ's character when they got him involved with Nicole? First of all, all he does is whine and baby talk Nicole. It's disgusting! I don't even watch them, I forward past them. We all know she is going to end up with Sami's baby. What the hell are they going to do with the other chick....I can't even remember her name because I'm so annoyed....she is going into labor and wants to give Nicole her baby.

I was talking to Tina about this, EJ and Nicole have no chemistry. They need to get her with Brady....they have better chemistry. And then they brought in the new FBI guy...Rafael. He's ok, and I think they'll get him with Sami....but I still like her with EJ. I know that a soap has to have drama, but I'm sick to death of the whole pregnancy thing and Nicole faking hers. Like EJ wouldn't know when he's constantly hanging on her, give me a break.

It's so funny how soaps work. I think they need to get an average person in there who's a fan and who has been watching the show for a while. Let them help write. You can have drama but they don't have to be so predictable. Like Sami leaving her baby and Nicole getting it, whatever.

What do you think?

My Blog List

Hey everyone. When you are looking at my blog page, look over to the right and you'll see a gorgeous picture of little miss Sami Nay! Just under that is a list of my favorite blogs. I have Nicki's site and I also made a new site, well it was new last year, lol. It's my recipee blog page. Please, take a look and check out some recipees and if you have a minute, leave a recipee or two that you love, ok. Good! I know you can cook, so get over there!

Sorry I've Been Gone So Long!

Hi everyone! I'M BACK!!!!

Have you ever been at a point in your life where you just felt like hell and you just don't want to talk to anyone? Sorry, that's where I've been. I was working and spending all kinds of time running for football. I was taking care of the kids, doing laundry, grocery shopping and everything else that a mom does and I just lost my will to write. I'm sorry.

But, here I am. I've missed talking to everyone. Sorry, I was just too bitchy to write anything. But, I think I'm over it.

So, I'll fill everyone in on what's going on in my life. The kids are good, Scott is good. We got through Christmas. That was stressful as hell. I always get a little crazy at Christmas time and I think I need about $20,000 to get all the stuff I want to buy for gifts. Really, my kids don't suffer at Christmas time. Scott get's a little pissy over what I spend. It's my mom's fault. She always went overboard at Christmas so I ended up being that way with my kids. (I'm laughing because I'm too old to be blaming my mom.)

I'm still working for Two Men And A Truck. I'm really enjoying working for them and it's probably been the best job I've had so far...work wise. I'm terribly sad though because my best work friend Bob was let go two weeks ago. I cried off and on for a whole day and I'm still really upset about it. He's a super nice guy and I actually looked forward to going to work. Now, I just try to stay to myself at work because I'm still not happy that they let him go. That's part of business though. When Scott and I owned our store we had our fair share of letting employees go. Sometimes, it's just what an owner has to do.

I did do something fun though, about a week or so ago. I made a Facebook page. I found a bunch of people that I went to high school with. It's sooooo cool. I'd never been on the website before, don't even remember what made me look at it.....I'm lying. I was chatting on the phone with Sally and she was telling me that Michael Lucas had been home for the holidays. She said he had a facebook page and that he'd been contacted by people we'd gone to school with. So, that's how I got there.

So, I've come across so many people from school, I'm loving it. I think about high school and how much fun it was, and how sad it is to lose touch with the people who were so important to you for so long. So, it's a great place to touch base again. I'm talking to people I have seen in 20 years. Like John Butler, we were friends from 7th grade on through all of high school. And there he was on Facebook. It's really pretty cool. Don't think I want my kids on it, but I think I'm old enough to be on it.

I'm trying to think what else is new since October. Wow, you should see Sami. Her hair is getting so long...finally, she has some. She is so beautiful! And, she still has her blue eyes. Scott and I were hoping that she'd keep her blonde hair and blue eyes, like he has. John had blonde hair and blue eyes at first. His eyes quickly turned green and now his hair is getting darker. Anyhow, I shouldn't just say that Sami is gorgeous because Jourdan is too. And Jason and John or gorgeous too! Don't know how I did that, thank the Lord they don't look like me....and even more....that Jason and Jourdan don't look like Paul. :)

I guess I could update some photo's on my site. I had a major catastrophe with my computer about a month and a half ago. My laptop was having some serious issues to do with Vista. I ended up having to delete the entire hard drive and reinstall windows. Well, I transfered all my files to my desk top and haven't gotten all my photo's back on the laptop. So, as I do that I'll work on updating my photo's.

Ok, I'm going to work on that. Sorry I've been away for so long. Maybe it was Obama winning the Presidential election that had me in the dumps? Hmm, that's something to ponder. If you want some interesting reading, go to the White House website and see the Obama plan for America. See what he has in store for killing babies, gay marriage, and pulling out the white flag of surrender in Iraq! Gotta love that!

Take care, and see you soon.