Tuesday, September 23, 2008

Three Delicious Nights

Sorry I've been away for a while. I've been sooooo busy. I'm not kidding!

I'm taking a really tough class this term and it's eating up all my spare time. You know, the spare time that I have between 9pm and 6am when most people are asleep! Anyhow, I'm taking Alternative Dispute Resolution so I can take Family Law and Divorce Mediation next term. One before the other. Anyhow, it's a hard class with about 100 or so pages a week to read, discussion questions, a weekly test, and a team project where I have to mediate two classmates.

Don't get me wrong, I'm enjoying it but there isn't much time for anything else around here.

I'll talk about football for a minute, that's much more fun. So Lowell played Grand Rapids Union last Friday and kicked their ass! Jason played and he said their turf really sucked. I guess the field is really old and the stuff they have down is like outdoor carpet, with no padding. He was bummed because they had to wear tennis shoes on it instead of their cleats. Now they put down all kinds of rubber padding under the fake field, but he said this stuff was really miserable. Think of how those poor kids feel having to play and practice on it year after year.

Now this week we are off to Northview to watch Jason play. Mom and Dad are going with me too. Dad went to school at Northview so it's a big deal to him. Scott's not going because he has to work late and he's going to be home with Sami. She's not so happy and social once you get past 7pm.

Oh my goodness, speaking of Sami....Scott emails me at work today and asks me if I want to go to Sams Club after work. Well, ok. I'm hot and I'm tired, but he has been asking me for a week so I agree to meet him and Chicky and Sami there at 4:30pm. I tell Scott to make sure Sami has a dry butt, two bottles in her diaper bag, and clean clothes on.

When I get to Sams Club I drive up and Sami has a peach shirt on and hot pink shorts! I swear, Scott is color blind! It's bad enough that he will wear two different reds, or that he will wear a red Ohio State shirt and his dark green gym shorts.....but now he's doing it to my baby girl! For crying out loud!

So I'm giving him a hard time about it and he tells me that she has a change of clothes in the diaper bag. I mean, she has 50 different cute outfits in the closet and I open up the bag and he has a pair of hot pink shorts that are exactly the same as the ones she is wearing and a pink shirt that is just another shade of pink........

See what I'm up against?

I've tried laying clothes out for him to put on her.....well that doesn't seem to work either. He "didn't see them". Yeah, ok! Poor Sami. She's still cute as hell with her blonde hair and big blue eyes. And, I can't believe that I forgot to say this earlier!

THREE NIGHTS OF SLEEPING ALL NIGHT LONG!

I pray that I didn't just jinx it by telling everyone. Do you know what it's like to be pregnant and sick for 10 months....sick so bad that you didn't sleep through the night because you were so sick? Then you have the prescious little baby girl and you think....she'll sleep through the night in a few weeks. Then a few weeks turns into a few months.....and still no sleep. Then, before you know it, she is 11 months old and she has finally slept through the night three nights in a row.

It's a miracle! It's a first day of autumn miracle! (Either that or the cold medicine)

Just kidding! :)

Ok, well my homework is done and I'm going to watch Hannity and Colmes. They are talking to a little kid who got suspended from school for wearing an Anti-Obama t-shirt! For crying out loud. If the New York Times can spout whatever flim flam they want, why can't a little kid wear and Anti-Obama shirt?

Tuesday, September 16, 2008

More For You To Think About

I was so excited about the football game that I didn't want to post anything new. I wanted the whole thing about the game and Jason to stay on the top of my blog.



Regardless, here I am. Today was one hell of a long day. Seriously! I haven't had any sleep for two nights, thanks to my little miss Samantha! She hasn't wanted to sleep for two nights and I don't know why. On top of that, Scott is cranky. For crying out loud, its his day off.



Guess I'm cranky too, lol.



Did you hear about all the crap from the Obama camp that Sarah Palin doesn't have enough experience to run for Vice President? Are you kidding me? On the news they were comparing her "experience" to that of the Messiah himself, Barack Obama. She has more executive experience than he does. He was elected to Congress on January 3, 2005. So, he has three years of experience? Yeah, that is enough to run the country.



It gets better!



According to the Washington Post "Barack Obama has missed 293 votes (45.7%) during the current Congress." WHAT? So, lets get this straight! As a congressman he's not working for the people of this country. As a congressman in the state of Illinois, he's not working for the people of his state.

Did you hear the news story about Oprah? I didn't realize she was the goddess of politics. She will not allow Sarah Pallin to appear on her show. She's had Obama on two or three times. What's up with that? Do you know how much money she makes???? Off her viewers! Some of whom may be Republicans! What a bitch.

Last, but not least, McCain and Pallin were in Grand Rapids tonight. I can't wait to see the news and hear what they have to say about it. Fox News is playing quite a bit of the Q&A. Speaking of Fox News, I'm watching Greta right now and she is interviewing Hillary Clinton's top fundraiser. Here is a part of the article:

"John McCain’s campaign says the Republican is picking up the support of a top Hillary Clinton fundraiser and member of the Democratic National Committee’s Platform Committee.
Lynn Forester de Rothschild has said she thinks Democratic nominee Barack Obama is arrogant and has a problem connecting with average Americans."

WOW, good for her. During the interview she stated that McCain is that middle ground candidate that we need so badly. This country doesn't need an extreme left or extreme right president!

Saturday, September 13, 2008

Lowell 49 / Holland 0

The pride that a mom feels when she see's her 15 year old son walk in a pink parade, circle the field, and escort an 8 year old cancer survivor during introductions is incredible. I can't even find the words to describe how I felt last night when the Lowell Red Arrows hosted their Pink Arrow game. It made me cry.

Down the hill marching in a pink parade from the High School to the field with a police escort....wow that was cool. The band was in pink, then the cheerleaders in pink, and then players walking side by side with a parade of pink shirts behind them...all in honor of loved ones that were lost to cancer or who had survived cancer. Goosebumps.

I was standing there watching Jason escort Anna on the field when they read his name and said that he would play in honor of her, as a cancer survivor....and I saw a young man. I kept saying to my mom, "he's all grown up, mom". The feelings of pride in my son were overwhelming.

#60! We saw him on News 8, 13, and 3 several times during the weeks. That was really cool. When we saw him run out onto the field to play, it was even better.

At the end of the game all the players went to the south end of the field where families and friends were invited to meet the player who played in their honor of those names on their shirts. Jason said that Anna ran to him and was so excited to see his jersey was dirty from playing. He peeled a pink arrow sticker off his helmet, signed it and gave it to her. Her parents took picture after picture of Jason and Anna. Then, with the help of his teammates he took off his jersey and gave it to Anna. She was so excited that she put it on right away.

Anna's parents told Jason that they were getting ready to open a sports bar in Ada and that his #60 pink jersey would be put behind glass and hung in the restaurant. They asked for his address so they could invite him to their grand opening. Is that the coolest thing you've ever heard?

Jason wanted to buy his jersey and keep it. By donating it, he played in honor of a little girl who was so thankful to have her name on a jersey for the biggest game in Red Arrow history. Jason told me they were putting it behind glass, dirt and all! How cool is that?

I couldn't be more proud of Jason.

Bush 7, Terrorists 0

Morose that there hasn't been another terrorist attack on American soil for seven long years, liberals were ecstatic when Hurricane Gustav was headed toward New Orleans during the Republican National Convention last week.

The networks gave the hurricane plenty of breaking-news coverage -- but unfortunately it was Hurricane Katrina from 2005 they were covering.On Keith Olbermann's Aug. 29 show on MSNBC, Michael Moore said the possibility of a Category 3 hurricane hitting the United States "is proof that there is a God in heaven." Olbermann responded: "A supremely good point."

Actually, Olbermann said that a few minutes later to some other idiotic point Moore had made, but that's how Moore would have edited the interview for one of his "documentaries," so I will, too. I would only add that Michael Moore's morbid obesity is proof that there is a Buddha.

Hurricane Gustav came and went without a hitch. What a difference a Republican governor makes!As many have pointed out, the reason elected officials tend to neglect infrastructure project issues, like reinforcing levees in New Orleans and bridges in Minneapolis, is that there's no glory when a bridge doesn't collapse.

There are no round-the-clock news specials when the levees hold. You can't even name an overpass retrofitting project after yourself -- it just looks too silly. But everyone's taxes go up to pay for the reinforcements.Preventing another terrorist attack is like that. There is no media coverage when another 9/11 doesn't happen.

We can thank God that President George Bush didn't care about doing the safe thing for himself; he cared about keeping Americans safe. And he has, for seven years.If Bush's only concern were about his approval ratings, like a certain impeached president I could name, he would not have fought for the Patriot Act and the war in Iraq.

He would not have resisted the howling ninnies demanding that we withdraw from Iraq, year after year. By liberals' own standard, Bush's war on terrorism has been a smashing, unimaginable success.A year after the 9/11 attack, The New York Times' Frank Rich was carping about Bush's national security plans, saying we could judge Bush's war on terror by whether there was a major al-Qaida attack in 2003, which -- according to Rich -- would have been on al-Qaida's normal schedule.

Rich wrote: "Since major al-Qaida attacks are planned well in advance and have historically been separated by intervals of 12 to 24 months, we will find out how much we've been distracted soon enough." ("Never Forget What?" New York Times, Sept. 14, 2002.)There wasn't a major al-Qaida attack in 2003. Nor in 2004, 2005, 2006 or 2007. Manifestly, liberals thought there would be: They announced a standard of success that they expected Bush to fail.

As Bush has said, we have to be right 100 percent of the time, the terrorists only have to be right one time. Bush has been right 100 percent of the time for seven years -- so much so that Americans have completely forgotten about the threat of Islamic terrorism.For his thanks, President Bush has been the target of almost unimaginable calumnies -- the sort of invective liberals usually reserve for seniors who don't separate their recyclables properly. Compared to liberals' anger at Bush, there has always been something vaguely impersonal about their "anger" toward the terrorists.

By my count, roughly one in four books in print in the world at this very moment have the words "Bush" and "Lie" in their title. Barnes & Noble has been forced to add an "I Hate Bush" section. I don't believe there are as many anti-Hitler books.

Despite the fact that Hitler brought "change," promoted clean, energy-efficient mass transit by making the trains run on time, supported abortion for the non-master races, vastly expanded the power of the national government and was uniformly adored by college students and their professors, I gather that liberals don't like Hitler because they're constantly comparing him to Bush.The ferocity of the left's attacks on Bush even scared many of his conservative allies into turning on him over the war in Iraq.

George Bush is Gary Cooper in the classic western "High Noon." The sheriff is about to leave office when a marauding gang is coming to town. He could leave, but he waits to face the killers as all his friends and all the townspeople, who supported him during his years of keeping them safe, slowly abandon him. In the end, he walks alone to meet the killers, because someone has to.That's Bush. Name one other person in Washington who would be willing to stand alone if he had to, because someone had to.

OK, there is one, but she's not in Washington yet. Appropriately, at the end of "High Noon," Cooper is surrounded by the last two highwaymen when, suddenly, his wife (Grace Kelly) appears out of nowhere and blows away one of the killers! The aging sheriff is saved by a beautiful, gun-toting woman.

Sunday, September 7, 2008

Back At It Again

Scott has lost 22 pounds, and he looks GOOD! He told me he is working on 20 more. Well, that got me thinking.......as I looked in the mirror.

In my mind, I'm not a fat person. I'm a thin person! When I'm sitting in a chair and I look down I don't see a really overweight person. Have you ever done this? Well, if you want a dose of reality go stand in front of a mirror. For me, it's a scary thing to do.

So, I've had to buy some new dress clothes for my new job. I've been really disgusted over the size that I had to buy. I'm in there trying on clothes at the store and I'm not happy. Well, it's not like the weight is going to just fall off of me.

So, today is a new beginning. (Yeah, I know....but that's what I'm telling myself.) I am miserable in this fat person's body. I look at Scott and I see how hard he has worked to look good. And here I sit, a big blob! Yuck! I was telling Scott this morning that I was ready. And, he was like, "yeah". Well that ticked me off but he told me that I was six weeks too late. Meaning he was six weeks ahead of me. Well, I told him that you have to be mentally ready to diet. Now, I'm finally mentally ready.

I got my haircut and highlighted. Well, my hair looks really blonde now....not exactly the look I was going for, but that's how it is for now. Next time, low lights instead of highlights. This is really summer hair and not fall hair. But, it'll be ok.

This morning I woke up early with Sami and decided today is the day. Today! Today! Today! I've had it. When I get hungry and want to eat junk, I'm going to look in the mirror and remind myself why I'm not going to eat junk. So, this morning Jourdan, John, Sami and I took a walk. Well, the kids rode and I walked. We went into town and fed the ducks and then we walked back. I think we went about 2 miles....maybe a little bit more. Then when we got back and Sami went down for her nap, I worked out a little with my hand weights.

I've had about 400 calories so far today. I'm hungry, so to avoid something bad happening I decided to sign in and post something. Here I am, and of course now that I'm writing, Sami is awake from her nap. Never fails, lol.

I don't want to keep embarrasing myself by talking about diets and then drop the ball. So I can't do that this time. Besides, the fact that Scott has lost so much weight is giving me alot of ambition. He looks really good and I don't want him to walk around with a fat wife. So, I'm at it again. Wish me luck!

Thursday, September 4, 2008

Don't Miss All The Good Stuff

Hey everyone! I've added some really cool video's to my blog. Make sure you scan all the way down to the bottom of my site to see what else I have posted for you to see.

Let me know what you think.

Tracy

Yeah, Sarah Palin

Did any of you see Sarah Palin's speech last night at the Repulican National Convention? WOW! She was awesome. I liked her already, but her speech really made me like her even more. She showed that she is ready to be VP and she really got after Obama.

Speaking of Obama, and I'm not kidding about this, his whole gang actually has the balls to question whether or not a woman can be VP! Democrats are saying that she is a mother with five children and that she can't be a mother and a Vice President! What the hell? Doesn't this make you mad?

Does anyone question the fact that men work outside the home? Nope, doesn't happen. Are the Republican's making a big deal that Obama has two young children, yet he's running for office? Plus, his wife Michelle works outside the home. Who's taking care of their girls.....a nanny!

Women across this whole nation should be furious that the Democrats think a woman can't be a mother with young children and a public servant.

That's How I Roll

I was talking to my friend Kathie the other day about something that is probably so common but we are so busy that we don't realize it's happening to us. You see, like Scott, her husband works alot of hours. This can be so hard on a relationship. It happens to so many couples, reality sneaks up on you and you have a family to support and bills to pay. So, you work and work and work....and sometimes it's at the expense of your relationship with your spouse.

While talking to Kathie about how busy she and Steve are I discovered that Scott and I have been suffering from a big disconnect too. Ok, we aren't having "problems" and our marriage isn't "in trouble". I've just been really grouchy lately, pointed out to me by the kids and Scott, and I started to ask myself why.

I came up with alot of reasons for my grouchiness but it started my brain on something else. Scott is my ally! We always stick together and we team up to take care of business around here. Well, I've been pretty grouchity with him too. Hmmmm, but why?

It might be that we don't have even one day off of work together. There aren't any days during the week where we can just hang out together and relax. We've always done everything together. Shopping, errands, etc. Well, that's not happening. We haven't really spent any quality time together in over a month since I started working. I don't regret working, I love my job. Seriously, I hate being away from the kids, but I love my job!

It doesn't help that he gets up early for work so by 9pm he's out cold. Well at 9:00 I'm still fighting with kids to get into bed, doing homework, doing laundry, doing dishes, or a hundred other things that need to be taken care of around here.

So, maybe it's all Scott's fault, lol. No not really. In a relationship, there are always two sides to every situation. So, back to Kathie. She was telling me that a friend of hers recently divorced her husband because he would get pissed over her spending too much time with their kids. What? Are you kidding me? I say good riddance! Paul was that way, he'd get so pissed off at me for spending too much time taking care of Jason. Kiss my ass Paul!

Well, we decided that as adults we need to understand that our spouse is busy and that we are busy. Ok, thats going on like crazy in my house. We are both busy. That's just the way it is, we are both adults and I need to stop being so grouchy with Scott. I'm brewing and I'm bitter and I feel like we're growing apart, today. Next week I'll feel different. That's how I roll!

Monday, September 1, 2008

Birthday Cake Meltdown

HAPPY SEPTEMBER!

Before I say anything else I want to say:

HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY to Jourdan! 13 years old on August 28th

HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my big boy John! 5 years old on August 29th

Wait, there's more!

Happy Birthday to Abbigail! 5 years old on August 20th
Happy Birthday to my sis Jamie! 29ish on August 26th (I'm being generous, lol)
Happy Birthday to my Grandpa, Lee Condon! 90 years old on August 29th (He shares a birthday with John)

August was a festive month for our family. Now, we have a down month and then we have a few birthday celebrations in October. (Jason hitting the big 16 and Samantha will have her very first birthday)

So now September is here and tomorrow is the first day of school. Wow, Scott has looked forward to this day since June 4th. He was giving the kids the business about it tonight over dinner. They didn't see the humor like he did.

John actually starts on Wednesday. He's very excited about eating lunch at school. I'm just nervous as ever because he's my baby boy and I can't believe he's old enough to be going off to school. I cried my eyes out when he went to preschool last year, I'm thinking it'll be more of the same Wednesday morning. I'm going in to work late so Scott and I can take him to school. Guess I'll have to skip the mascara that day.

So this new school year has got me thinking. In a year and 9 months Jason will be graduating from High School. It makes me want to cry just thinking about it. He's my baby and even though he is taller than me, he's not supposed to be growing up and graduating so soon or going off to the Coast Guard Academy. (Or to Montana to go to the Univ. of Montana, whichever he chooses.) It puts me on the edge of an anxiety attack just thinking about it.

So, I won't.

For now.

You want to hear something even better? I was dusting and Scott was talking about putting the Christmas stuff out in only 10 weeks. 10 weeks isn't long at all. Shorter than summer vacation was. I think I talked about this in another post....I think. But Christmas will be soon upon us. To me, it feels like we just had Christmas. Now, it's sneaking up on us again. I'm so thankful that I'm working this year because it's going to help out on the Christmas shopping so much.

I'd be curious to know how many of you are already thinking about Christmas shopping? Have you already started to shop? I've bought two gifts already. Better than last year when I was shopping at the last minute, but that was because of money. I used to start shopping in July. Doesn't happen anymore.

I've been avoiding talking about this, but Scott has lost almost 20 pounds. My gawd he looks good. I'm starting to feel yucky about myself. Well, even worse than I usually do. Have you ever been out and about and you see a really good looking guy and he's with a fat, ugly, bitchy looking woman? And you think to yourself, how did SHE get that guy? Well, I'm heading down that road.

Yeah, I've already decided that's me. What the hell am I going to do about it? I've lost just about 10 pounds since I started working, but that's because I'm at work 8 to 9 hours a day and I don't eat. Well, then I'm not sticking to that when I have a day off. Now, we're heading into winter and I'll be stuck with the treadmill. I've wasted this entire summer! I really piss myself off about this. Scott and I have the same bad eating habits but he's gotten his under control, big time. He looks so good. I'm having a hard time keeping my hands off him. LOL. Poor guy.

Well, until I can pull my head out of my ass nothing is going to happen for me. I have to figure out how to get myself under control. Eating birthday cake just won't get me into a size 10!