Wednesday, November 11, 2009

Friendship

I know, you thought I was done talking tonight didn't you? I've been thinking alot lately about my life. You know I have been thinking alot about my life and taking care of myself and my family. I've also been thinking alot about my friends.

I haven't been a very good friend to some people who are very dear to me. You know who you are. I haven't called you in ages, sometimes I forget to call you back and we'll go weeks without speaking on the phone. And sometimes we'll go months without seeing each other. Please know that this doesn't mean that I don't care about you.

As we grow older I think we look back on our life and we see the mistakes we've made. Hindsight is always 20/20! I don't mean to be a bad friend and I don't mean to be a shitty friend. Life just gets ahold of me and with four busy kids, school, work, a marriage, and a family life time just flies by so quickly. I can't even believe that it's November! I have even lost touch with my friends online. My good friend Beth and Connie, we haven't spoken in forever and I feel terrible about it. I haven't even had time for Facebook lately. I'm so busy posting to the Two Men And A Truck facebook site that I haven't had time to get to my own page.

So, it's a lousy excuse but I do feel bad and I am sorry. I do think of my friends all the time. I can't even remember the last time I hung out with Alice and Sally. We spent so much time together last summer and I didn't see them once this summer. I feel bad about it and I just haven't been a good friend. I'm sorry.

Sometimes things happen that make you take your life into perspective. I haven't had some great realization that I'm a shitty person or anything. I've just been thinking alot about my life and the fact that I'm getting older. I always take things so seriously and I am trying to remind myself to take the time to enjoy life. That includes making time for my friends. I'm sorry I haven't done that lately.

Still Plugging Away

I really am hit and miss on my postings aren't I? Well, I don't call my life "dieting mom in chaos" for nothing. I've had sick kids, Scott changed from second shift to day shift....holy shit has that but a kink in my routine. He's working 10 hour days, getting up at 3am, so that's been tough. He's really tired!

What does that mean for me? Well, to save on daycare costs I'm going in a little later and taking Sami to daycare with Aunt Addie. She LOVES going there. She begs me every morning to go there and play with Lauren. So, I'm working until close, which is 6pm. I'm used to being home by 4:30 and with the time change, it's dark outside when I come home.

So, alot of changes have been going on in the Watkins household. Lot's of football, Lowell is kicking ass all over the place. So we have really been busy with that. They play Portage Central this Friday and then off to Detroit. I'm still in my dieting crisis....for crying out loud.

Ok, I haven't been hard at it. I haven't gained any of my weight back since I met with Julie. I have lost a couple more pounds and that is good. With Scott's schedule change I am finding it harder and harder to workout. The only time I seem to have is in the morning and I am not good at working out in the morning. I'm so damn tired in the morning. When I get down onto the floor to do my workout, I have a hard time keeping my eyes open. Seriously.

I don't know who said it was better to work out in the morning because all the oxygen getting into my muscles makes me so tired. So, right now, I'm at a standstill. Still over 20 pounds gone since February but I'll be going back to see Julie in just four weeks and my goal is 10 pounds away for when I see her. I'm eating healthier and tyring to stay away from the junk. I've really done well.

My problem is the working out. I haven't been on the treadmill since Scott went to days. I know, it's a lousy excuse. I just don't knowwhat to do and I get home so late and I'm so freaking tired! I have to do something, and I have to get back on track. It'll happen.

Something terrible happened a week ago that really got my attention. You all know that I work for Two Men And A Truck. I love working for Two Men And A Truck, it's been my most favorite job that I have ever had in my life. One of our sister franchises in another state lost their Operations Manager to a sudden heart attack at the age of 43. He had a fiance a young child and soon to be stepkids. 43 years old! That is so freaking young, a year younger than Scott and three years older than me. I'm trying to say that it got my attention and it was a good reminder that I need to continue with what I started and take care of myself and my family.